Not able to delete or rename stock apps after dl09 update.

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by jogutier, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone, so I update my rooted phone with oden using the dl09 update manual cause I had removed the stock apps before and that wasn't letting the OTA update install, but after manually updating my phone. I can't get the stupid stock apps go away. I'm not that much of a newb, but i really am. Please, if you have a fix for this. Be very detailed, like i said before. I'm what you call a newb. Thanks in advance. :icon_ banana:
     
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    What methods are you using to remove them? Also I don't know if the knew update removed root or not so I'll air on the side of caution and ask, are you sure you're still rooted?

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did reroot my phone and installed root explorer. I open rooted explorer click on rw system/app/ then I tried renaming, moving, deleteing, it look n says its been done, but it like fixses itself domehow. Like its protected or some. Lol

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you reboot after making changes? And how were you renaming them. I don't quite have a definitive answer but it may lead me in the right direction.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried again renaming by just adding .old to the end of the extension and rebooted phone. It just correct itself like my phone is running on safemode. Lol

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you tryjust adding .bak to the end like

    Derp.apk.bak

    Thats the way ive always done it. Not sure if its important though
    :/

    tappin and a talkin
     
  7. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried .bak and same thing. Acts like it changed but nothing. I tell u, its like it verifies agaist something that tells it to change back. Like what I'm editing isn't the real file. Weird bro. Thanks for advise.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shoot. Well I'm spent. Tomorrow when I wake up I'll check in and if you haven't made any progress I'll send over one of the big dogs.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  9. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know anywhere else to check. I did a search to.see if I see it.someone else, and nothing. Unless its preprogramed in the manual update dl09 from a couples days ago. Thanks again bud and thanks for ur time.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anytime. Just wish I could have been of more help.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  11. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe we will get froyo soon n I will be good then. ;)

    Sent from my SCH-I500 usingDroidForums App
     
  12. fishon
    Offline

    fishon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem you're having. It's as if there is a little bug inside my phone that keeps reviving the changed filenames into their original name. I suspect that Verizon has something to do with this little bugger.
     
  13. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    So in root explorer you click Mount R/W on the opening screen then nav to system/apps and click Mount R/W again, then long press the app to rename and add .old or .bak to the end and hit save or done, it shows that you renamed it in the app list correct. Then while still in system/apps click Mount R/O and hit menu/refresh and it will refresh the app list....if they are still renamed hit menu/home then click Mount R/O then menu exit....once it exits then reboot...
    So this is exactly what your doing and its still not renaming or deleting the files? Ive tried to recreate the prob a few times now and I cant get your issue on my phone....
     
  14. fishon
    Offline

    fishon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did exactly what you wrote, but my roof explorer won't allow me to chance R/W or R/O inside the system/apps directory. Only at the root directory am I allowed to change R/O to R/W setting. I even tried changing the file's permission so it can't be written, but once I do that and I go back to the directory, it changes the name back into the original name.
     
  15. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like root explorer isn't getting SU permissions

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

galaxy sch i500 app greyed out