Not able to access contacts when calling

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by flight, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. flight

    flight New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just upgraded to the MAXX HD and am having an odd problem with my contacts. I hit the phone app to make a call and hit the search button to find my contact. I either type a few letters in to find the right person and tap their name. Oddly, some of them will not give me a phone number. It is as if the phone has forgotten the contact.

    When I manually type in their phone number, though, the phone recognizes who it is and lists the full number. If I tap their name it pulls up an overlay of the various numbers associated with that person. Tap that, and I get a profile for them with the option "Add to My Contacts", as if they were not already there. Now the contact has all the appropriate info and I can search for them normally.

    It seems to only be a few contacts that have this issue and I am not looking forward to trying to go through my whole phone book to find which ones have the problem. Any ideas?
     
  2. jaydub5

    jaydub5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Contacts

    Ah sooooo... cbeck in your PEOPLE list (contacts) and you might find multiple
    listing for the same name... some might just have an email address and no phone
    number... thus your problem. I had the same issue... Consolidate your contacts.
     
  3. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    There are apps available on the play store that can help you find duplicate contract entries. Since that is your suggested problem try looking them up. Search merge contacts or contact duplicate. Both will give you plenty of good results. Good luck!
     
    #3 Droid Firefighter, Mar 10, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  4. flight

    flight New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. I found the problem was that several of my contacts were stored in "Other Contacts" for some reason (visible by checking them out from a PC). With my last phone they all showed up in "People", with this one they did not. I just moved every contact with a phone number associated with it to the "My Contacts" section and that fixed it. No idea why one phone did it one way and the other a different way.
     
  5. jaseman

    jaseman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    I just wish there was a way to "easily" get the black background back for the people app like it was under ICS! Not only that, but my wife's razr maxx (not HD) after updating to JB STILL has the black background on the people app. I'm jealous!:frown:
     
Search tags for this page
access contacts while on a call razr maxx hd
,
droid razr hd unable to dial closes
,
droid razr maxx unable to access contacts
,
droid razr maxx unable to dial out
,
droid x2 not able to access
,

how to look up contacts on android while in a call

,
how to look up contacts on droid razr maxx hd while on a cal
,
s3 all phone contacts are unable to be called
,
unable to call from s3 contacts
,
unable to dial out on razr maxx