Not a World Phone?! WTF?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jeremz, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. jeremz
    Offline

    jeremz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found out today my Droid will not be able to make calls, send sms, or use GPS in Europe. I am stunned, honestly. I didn't know they still made phones that are not world phones. This is especially disturbing because I spent 10 or 15 minutes looking up prices of sending texts, downloading stuff, and making calls in Switzerland with the salesmen who sold me the phone and said, "it's a world phone, it will work anywhere". Frankly, this sucks ass and I don't see how this is going to attract international travely business like folks to this phone. (not that I am one, but I go to Switzerland a lot) I'm considering a return, which KILLS me, because I love this thing so much. Does anyone else care about this?
  2. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The whole CDMA / GSM thing is not exactly news.

    Buy a prepaid GSM phone for when you are in Europe, and you can still use your droid on WiFi.

    Even if you have a GSM phone (ATT and TMobile), you are better off getting a prepaid SIM card for when you are outside the US.
  3. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,051
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'd rather not have to re-activate my Tour when I'm in Costa Rica next year..

    That will be a drag.

    The trade off is worth it to me though. I could not give up this device. Not now : )
  4. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    How did you not know this before you bought the phone? One of my FIRST questions was "will this work outside the US?"

    If you travel that should always be a first question. There is a global Droid, I thought...
  5. jeremz
    Offline

    jeremz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You guys are right. I think I'm just pissed that the sales guy lied to me for fifteen minutes. I'm sure he believed what he was saying, but he was totally wrong.
  6. jeremz
    Offline

    jeremz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did I not know this Lion? Read my post.
  7. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Word of advice: on such an important decision, try doing your own research. It is the salesman job to sell the phone. Probably got a commission, too. They lie. Deal with it and do your own research.
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can always get a Milestone from the UK....

    £423.19 in the UK...Makes it $700.25 :icon_eek:

    Rumor has it that it wouldn't work here in the US...Not sure if it's true or not...
  9. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Totally agree. The ridiculous amount they charge for roaming on another network is an eye opener. Prepaid is the way to go.
  10. CKyle22
    Offline

    CKyle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why wouldn't it? It's got a CDMA compatible radio too, if I remember correctly.
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure....Just read it on another forum somewhere..... I almost had a buddy buy one for me to sell it here...Till I did the UK to US conversion....
  12. TomN
    Offline

    TomN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes it is a bummer, but one that I knew about way before I bought the phone. I don't travel outside of the country anyway so really it doesn't effect me at all. If I, by some act of God, have to travel outside the US, I'll just get a prepaid GSM phone.
  13. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only times I travel outside the US is for work....and then a satellite phone would be required....
  14. jeremz
    Offline

    jeremz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm curious to know how you guys all knew "way before" you bought it that this phone wouldn't work outside the US, or where you did your "research". Did you look on the internet? I mean, a month ago, some people still thought that the arrow keys on the keyboard were a finger print reader. I figured that the folks at the Verizon store who insisted that it works over seas would be a better source of info. Is there some definitive source of "correct" information that trumps the Verizon sales people? Anyway, here's another question for you: Can google voice and wifi solve this problem for me? I have wifi available most of the time over there, and I have a google voice number. I also have a few of these crappy prepaid phones that I normally use, but I really feel lame having to use them with a Droid in my pocket.
  15. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not hard to figure that out....The Droid is a CDMA phone....
  16. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    The Droid is a CDMA phone. That was known well before the phone ever hit the market. That means it will not work overseas.

    Now you know.
  17. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Well, the GSM / CDMA thing has been pretty common knowledge for, half a decade or more at least.

    Google would be a pretty good source of information on a subject you don't know about. Sales people should be your absolute last line of information, because, in general, they will lie about anything and everything in order to make a sale, as you have just learned. To sling phone for a living and not know that a CDMA phone won't work overseas is laughable.

    Google voice + WiFi = no go. Google Voice is not VoIP, it just calls out to a local number and redirects your call, unlike services like Skype, which route your call over the Internet.
  18. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    If a Sales Rep's lips are moving....He is Lying! (used to be one here ;))
  19. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Verizon is a CDMA network, most of the rest of the world uses GSM. The fact that the droid does not utilize a SIM card should have been the biggest hint. Also most (not all but a lot of them) verizon reps suck balls lol definitely reccomend doing your own research, I'm sure they'll say a lot of stuff just to ensure you buy something.
  20. JayMonster
    Offline

    JayMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How most people "knew" just had to read a review. Many places deried the decision for it to not be a world phone and were "surprised" by this. (For example, see cnets review of the Droid).

    The Milestone will NOT run on Verizon (the Milestone uses WCDMA) which is different than the CDMA2000 used by Verizon Wireless. So, while you could use it on AT&T or T-Mobile thanks to GSM, Verizon Wireless is not an option for the Milestone.
Search tags for this page

using verizon in costa rica

,

will a droid phone work in costa rico