Nooby questions about scripts

Discussion in 'Koush' started by iamnotjohn, May 6, 2010.

  1. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine always says access denied when i use terminal emulator...
  3. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    are you typing su first?
  4. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh do i have to? sorry im new to this? for example, i want the clock black thing do i write "su clockblack"?
  5. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    yeah typing su is what gives you superuser permission. So it would be like this

    su (hit enter)
    clockblack (hit enter)

    Also jrummy has a newer version to his rom and it is really nice. Check out his thread for version 0.7.
  6. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you using the v. 0.7? i would like to upgrade but im kinda nervous :p im super new to this hehe
  7. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I currently am not running .7 but I did for a while and I really liked it. If you are comfortable switching roms I would recommend it with no hesitation. If you do it through rom manager he now has a pretty sweet set up where you can add a bunch of extra "goodies" right through rom manager.
  8. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have one more question if you dont mind, what is a kernel and 5 slot kernel whats the difference between the 5 and 7 slots. and how about the p3 kerns and the bekit... thanks man... appreciate it...
  9. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    No worries man, we all had the same questions when we started rooting our phones. I am still relatively new to rooting so I have had to figure this all out as well. A 5 slot kernel allows you to have 5 different speed settings whereas a 7 slot allows you to have 7 different speed settings. So if you DL a rom that comes stock with a 7 slot overclocking kernel up to 1ghz you will have 125, 250, 550 (which is the default speed) 700, 800, 900, 1ghz. I suggest you read the following thread I will post. Very helpful with all overclocking questions.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/blackdroid/31461-over-clocking-101-concert-blackdroid-roms.html

    Don't be afraid to ask as many questions as you need to, it is far better to go into the situation with as much knowledge as you can.
  10. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ohhhh now i get it.... im trying to install 0.7 now, thanks for your help man.... now i feel like i know something (at least) lol
  11. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    No problem, if you run into issues most devs have their own support threads and you will find everyone here is very helpful.
  12. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    dang, im liking this 0.7 man thanks :)
  13. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for being so helpful man, appreciate it :DD
  14. iamnotjohn
    Offline

    iamnotjohn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone know how to put apk files on system/apps folder on droid? ASTRO doesnt work for me copying the files...
  15. BACAbone
    Offline

    BACAbone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the best file manager i have found is root explorer. it is a paid app but a must have imo