Noobs looking to root look here 1st

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Tallica, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best.
  2. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best. Open for recommendations?
  3. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Don't know, had a bunch of people with BB say they got the notification, haven't heard that from LFY, SS, or Sapphire, might have something to do with those being built from source.
  4. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok, What are all those things? LFY, SS, Sapphire, and Source? lol Sorry im asking a million questions... Its just easier to talk to someone who knows these things rather than spending hours searching the forums for everything. lol
  5. babyman287
    Offline

    babyman287 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought my phone stock 2.0

    So is there a difference in bringing 2.2 back to 2.0.1 and 2.0???

    or can I root from either version?
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    BB is built on old code and even though OTAs were supposed to be blocked, they weren't. This is a known issue and has been ranted about in many, many threads. Wait for 5, try a different ROM, or put up with having to reboot and cause a failed install every couple of days (possibly increasingly often with the push coming to an end).

    You can root from anywhere. 2.0 and 2.0.1 have added options on how to root. If you want to put SPRecovery on your phone you're fine on there with the new SBF file MotoCache1 just created.
  7. babyman287
    Offline

    babyman287 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On "(option box #2)" it says "if you are on stock 2.1" do I proceed even though I'm on stock 2.2?
  8. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Haha i had Maple and Brown sugar oatmeal for b-fast this mornin, been smellin maple syrup all day... lol.

    Anyways, any news on when BB V0.5 is coming? If not its no biggie. How is that CyanogenMod ROM ur running? Might try that instead of BB, atleast until Version 5 comes out. What's the perks of that?
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Near absolute control of your droid with a very stock-like feel. Including an equalizer for your music playback. She's fast, stable, and the power widget alone is worth the test.

    As to a timeline for bugless beast you would need to talk to people in pete's sub forums. All I've heard is "soon"
  10. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    OK just loaded SPR via RSDLiteSPF and I'm @ 100% but it says "in process"

    It also says to manually power up the device but it is all booted up already. If I click to close RSD it says I may damage the device...

    What to do?

    I shut down and re-powered the phone still connected to usb backed out of RSD and rebooted the phone into recovery... STILL ON STOCK RECOVERY
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  11. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Don't close RSD. Just power off your device and reboot it back into the bootloader holding UP on the D-Pad and the Pwr button and it'll finish. I just did it.
  12. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    I don't remember having to do that the first time I flashed SPR way back when.
    I did do as you suggested and it did finish but when I boot into recovery I am still in STOCK Recovery
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    There's a problem with the 2.2 bootloader included in the update.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot-43.html#post756506

    This is the latest development. The guy who created the SBF to put SPRecovery on a 2.2 install is currently working to fix the 2.2 bootloader issue.

    And if anyone needs to get ahold of me tonight, I'm having MAJOR signal issues with Verizon, so it'll be spotty to downright impossible.
  14. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    OH COOL!!! I was getting disgusted... now I know all I have to do is wait.
    This is probably the cause of the problem I was having with ROM MGR also.

    So reading the linked thread what I get out of it is the bootloader on 2.2 is not locked but if you load a different recovery and it sees the wrong recovery it automatically replaces the recovery with the one it wants...

    If that is correct then it is just a matter of time before Droids take over the world:icon_eek:
  15. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Pretty much. It's not locked, it's just "smart". However, we're smarter, and can use that in our favor. SCORE!
Search tags for this page

cynanmod s3

,

root app cynanmod