Noobs looking to root look here 1st

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Tallica, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    The 2 most important things you need to know right now is you are rooting 2.2 via SPRecovery you need to be flashing the right SPRecovery SBF and two people last night attempted it with the SBF that MotoCache1 just created. These two people reported initial success but then the phone seemed to revert back to the stock recovery image. We are not, at present, aware of a fix for this. We have some suspicions, including different bootloader images, problems with Windows 7/Vista 64 incompatibilities, and RSD Lite 4.7 being used versus 4.6. At this point all we can really say is:

    Yes, that should work, especially if you're running RSD Lite 4.6 and trying to flash from a 32-bit Windows XP computer. We're (and by we I mean they ;)) are working on the issue. Hopefully there will be a definitive answer for you soon.
     
  2. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think those might be the only cases reported so far. Moto is on to the problem though, I think the problrm only affects phones that did the OTA, if you manually installed 2.2 his new .sbf is good to go, from what I gather.
     
  3. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, doing option 1-3 will put SPRecovery on your phone and make a backup as it is in it's current state. Then all you have to do is pick a Rom and install with SPR

    How did you get to 2.2, OTA or manuall install?
     
  4. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Manual Install, but it wasn't from Moto. It was someone else but i can't remember who. So once i put SPRecovery on my device, i can install a custom rom and it will root at the same time? :icon_eek:
     
  5. sirnewbz

    sirnewbz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i recently, this morning, installed bugless beast v0.4 on my 2.2 moto droid, rooted of course, but im still getting pop-ups saying "system update available for froyo 2.2"

    wtf?
     
  6. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, It's that easy:)
     
  7. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best.
     
  8. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best. Open for recommendations?
     
  9. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't know, had a bunch of people with BB say they got the notification, haven't heard that from LFY, SS, or Sapphire, might have something to do with those being built from source.
     
  10. XxSinisteRxX

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, What are all those things? LFY, SS, Sapphire, and Source? lol Sorry im asking a million questions... Its just easier to talk to someone who knows these things rather than spending hours searching the forums for everything. lol
     
  11. babyman287

    babyman287 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my phone stock 2.0

    So is there a difference in bringing 2.2 back to 2.0.1 and 2.0???

    or can I root from either version?
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    BB is built on old code and even though OTAs were supposed to be blocked, they weren't. This is a known issue and has been ranted about in many, many threads. Wait for 5, try a different ROM, or put up with having to reboot and cause a failed install every couple of days (possibly increasingly often with the push coming to an end).

    You can root from anywhere. 2.0 and 2.0.1 have added options on how to root. If you want to put SPRecovery on your phone you're fine on there with the new SBF file MotoCache1 just created.
     
Search tags for this page

cynanmod s3

,

root app cynanmod