Noobs looking to root look here 1st

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Tallica, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay, in that case you need to look at another could of threads:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/43671-dummies-guide-android-terminoligy-lingo.html

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    These should answer several questions you have and if you have any more we'll be happy to help.
  2. sirnewbz
    Offline

    sirnewbz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    help!!

    i installed rom manager on my moto droid 2.2, tried to download flash clockworkmod recovery, but it says "an error occured while attempting to run privileged commands!" does this mean my droid's not rooted? i had to physically install the update from my computer, cause the droid said it had the most current update. i thought i rooted it. can anyone help?
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    1, how did you root, 2, are you sure you have SU capabilities, 3, did you install busybox, 4, the thread in my signature might be helpful.
  4. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Clarification

    So by doing christim's options 1 through 3 my phone will then be rooted and have a custom rom on it?

    Also, i've noticed that he does not talk about 2.2 in that post. Only 2.1 Is the process different at all for the 2.2 version or exactly the same?
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    The 2 most important things you need to know right now is you are rooting 2.2 via SPRecovery you need to be flashing the right SPRecovery SBF and two people last night attempted it with the SBF that MotoCache1 just created. These two people reported initial success but then the phone seemed to revert back to the stock recovery image. We are not, at present, aware of a fix for this. We have some suspicions, including different bootloader images, problems with Windows 7/Vista 64 incompatibilities, and RSD Lite 4.7 being used versus 4.6. At this point all we can really say is:

    Yes, that should work, especially if you're running RSD Lite 4.6 and trying to flash from a 32-bit Windows XP computer. We're (and by we I mean they ;)) are working on the issue. Hopefully there will be a definitive answer for you soon.
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    I think those might be the only cases reported so far. Moto is on to the problem though, I think the problrm only affects phones that did the OTA, if you manually installed 2.2 his new .sbf is good to go, from what I gather.
  7. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    No, doing option 1-3 will put SPRecovery on your phone and make a backup as it is in it's current state. Then all you have to do is pick a Rom and install with SPR

    How did you get to 2.2, OTA or manuall install?
  8. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Manual Install, but it wasn't from Moto. It was someone else but i can't remember who. So once i put SPRecovery on my device, i can install a custom rom and it will root at the same time? :icon_eek:
  9. sirnewbz
    Offline

    sirnewbz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i recently, this morning, installed bugless beast v0.4 on my 2.2 moto droid, rooted of course, but im still getting pop-ups saying "system update available for froyo 2.2"

    wtf?
  10. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Yes, It's that easy:)
  11. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best.
  12. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok sweet! Now if i do this and end up with the same lil pop-ups that sirnewb is getting, what do i do then? lol. Cuz i've already DL'd and Installed Froyo 2.2 Manually like he did. I just haven't installed BB V.4 like he has...yet. Still debating on what Rom is the best. Open for recommendations?
  13. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Don't know, had a bunch of people with BB say they got the notification, haven't heard that from LFY, SS, or Sapphire, might have something to do with those being built from source.
  14. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Ok, What are all those things? LFY, SS, Sapphire, and Source? lol Sorry im asking a million questions... Its just easier to talk to someone who knows these things rather than spending hours searching the forums for everything. lol
  15. babyman287
    Offline

    babyman287 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought my phone stock 2.0

    So is there a difference in bringing 2.2 back to 2.0.1 and 2.0???

    or can I root from either version?
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    BB is built on old code and even though OTAs were supposed to be blocked, they weren't. This is a known issue and has been ranted about in many, many threads. Wait for 5, try a different ROM, or put up with having to reboot and cause a failed install every couple of days (possibly increasingly often with the push coming to an end).

    You can root from anywhere. 2.0 and 2.0.1 have added options on how to root. If you want to put SPRecovery on your phone you're fine on there with the new SBF file MotoCache1 just created.
  17. babyman287
    Offline

    babyman287 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On "(option box #2)" it says "if you are on stock 2.1" do I proceed even though I'm on stock 2.2?
  18. XxSinisteRxX
    Offline

    XxSinisteRxX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Marshalltown, IA
    Haha i had Maple and Brown sugar oatmeal for b-fast this mornin, been smellin maple syrup all day... lol.

    Anyways, any news on when BB V0.5 is coming? If not its no biggie. How is that CyanogenMod ROM ur running? Might try that instead of BB, atleast until Version 5 comes out. What's the perks of that?
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Near absolute control of your droid with a very stock-like feel. Including an equalizer for your music playback. She's fast, stable, and the power widget alone is worth the test.

    As to a timeline for bugless beast you would need to talk to people in pete's sub forums. All I've heard is "soon"
  20. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    OK just loaded SPR via RSDLiteSPF and I'm @ 100% but it says "in process"

    It also says to manually power up the device but it is all booted up already. If I click to close RSD it says I may damage the device...

    What to do?

    I shut down and re-powered the phone still connected to usb backed out of RSD and rebooted the phone into recovery... STILL ON STOCK RECOVERY
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
Search tags for this page

cynanmod s3

,

root app cynanmod