NOOB to Smartphones - I Need Some Clarification

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by HarryDresden, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. HarryDresden
    Offline

    HarryDresden New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using a feature phone up until now, and i'm going to be upgrading to a Droid Bionic pretty soon. dancedroid
    I'm buying the droid used off of eBay, and the seller says there's no sim card included, but the ESN is clean.

    I'd like to know weather or not i can simply walk into a Verizon store with my new Droid Bionic,
    ask them to deactivate my old Feature phone, and have them activate my Droid with a 3G data plan? (not interested in 4G right now)

    Like i said, i'm new to the whole smartphone thing, so please forgive me!
  2. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm not sure they'll activate without the SIM for 4G installed. But 4G costs no more than 3G, so there's no reason to go 3G only. Just tell them you damaged the card trying to re-seat it and they'll probably give you a new one.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    4g will come with 3g no upgrade or charge it's the same.
    I hear Verizon will supply you with a free sim, but can't verify.

    If in fact the esn is clear you should be good to go. Make certain the item description states it's clear and I would message via eBay verify it so (just for extra proof if a claim comes up)

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
  4. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I did fry my sim card and when I told them they installed a new one for free.

    One thing to add; even if you have 4G in your area, if you aren't interested in using it, you can turn 4G off in your settings (or a widget) and run on 3G.
  5. matthew2478
    Offline

    matthew2478 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure to get the double your data pack that way you get 4 gigs than getting the 2 gigs

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. matthew2478
    Offline

    matthew2478 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of internet of course

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

buying droid maxx on ebay do i need sim card