Noob questions/ concerns...

faust0230

Reaction score
OK so i am kinda new to all of this root business and i had a couple of questions/concerns. My DB is currently rooted using Pete's tools. I have bionic boostrap and titanium backup. I have flashed a few roms (currently flashed to [P]urity Ic3) and am loving the results. The first thing i did after rooting was to make a nandroid and i make a nandroid after flashing any rom (i use this method to go between different roms - not sure if this is most effective way but works for me). I am aware of the forever root method and cheesecake app but have opted out of using these because i want to stay on OTA path and not risk me messing that up.

-regarding bloatware: i am under the impression that as long as i have all bloatware installed and am unrooted that i will have no problems with an OTA. Am i safe deleting (staying within confines of safe list of these apps) bloatware as long as i can revert to a nandroid that has it all installed? Do i have to be unrooted to accept an OTA? Am i given a choice to postpone OTA so i can make changes as needed? If deleting is not a good option then is freezing effective and how can i remove icons from app drawer if they are frozen?

-I was going through my 'about phone' and it says my system version is now 5.7.893. I did not use cheescake so i dont know how this happened. I wanted to stay 886 to be sure id be on ota path and i know that if you use that app there are some changes that cannot be reverted. Is this just how the rom displays it or am i upgraded?

-lastly, once i accept an ota and im updated ar my nandroids useless because they were built off of 886? Titanium backups? Will i have to wait for a new rooting method after OTA? Will i have to wait to flash roms again after developers update their builds to run over new version?

I know this all probably elementary and in here somewhere but just hoping for some clarity. Thanks to anyone who wants to school me.:hail:

ripper2860