Noob questions about rooting Moto Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kikitt, Aug 23, 2010.

1. kikitt

kikitt New Member

Hello, I am new to rooting and I am really wanting to because of the customization availiable and overclocking, and other features. I just had some questions. I am running 2.2 FRG01B, first of all I was looking for a way to root and I found Easy Root, and DMUpdater, I was wondering which would be better to use or if there is no difference.

My second problem is that I don't know if I want to use custom ROMS, I just want to change notification bar color and font color, and fonts. Is there an easy way to do this like an app that will let me choose colors. I found one for changing system fonts but nothing for colors. The reasoning that I didn't want to use custom ROMS is just because I like how launcherpro works right now for my launcher and I just wanted to stick with that.

Lastly about overclocking, is there a certain setting that work best for Droids or is it all trail and error?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

-Kikitt
  2. cromo8

cromo8 New Member

DMUpdater seems to work better as many people have come back with problems with easy root

there are some roms out there that only make it stock and you can theme it using metamorph

overclocking, yes its trial and error, as every phone is different as what it can handle, yours could do 1.25 ghz or a max of 800 without issues its the luck of the draw
  3. kikitt

kikitt New Member

Okay, thank you very much for the quick response, Meta morph seems like it might be something Im not sure if I can do..do you know of any froyo stock roms with a black notification bar?
  4. cromo8

cromo8 New Member

5. kikitt

kikitt New Member