Noob question - updating to new ROM versions

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jcardona1, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Hey guys,

    Noob question here :) I installed BB 7.2 last night and now I see that there is a 7.4 with pinch zoom Google Maps. What is involved in updating to a newer version of the same ROM? I was using the step by step guide posted by another member on how to install BB.

    Will I lose all my desktop shortcuts as I did when I first went to 7.2?

    Thanks!
  2. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    bump please! plan on doing this today. any help would be greatly appreciated :)
  3. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You would just do it like your installing the rom for the first time. Yes you will lose all your shortcuts. If you know what you are doing then you can just pick the things you want from the update and just install those..
  4. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    No you will not...if you update via the update.zip you will lose nothing. If you use the nandroid backup you will lose everything.
  5. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    thanks, you mean like this right? this is from Pete's post. the only one that im not sure about is in red below. what would that entail? thanks for the help!

  6. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You dont need to worry about that step because it only for 0.7 and previous roms. You have 0.7.2 so just skip that step.
  7. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    ah got it, i missed that it only said 0.7, thanks! this seems really easy. there's gotta be a catch LOL. so i install this update, and all my desktop shortcuts and custom icons will still be there? it takes FOREVER to recreate these using bettercut ;)
  8. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Correct. Just skip the step in red.
  9. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep, this. No catch.
  10. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    holy crap that was easy! took all of a couple minutes. i thought it was a headache to update these everytime. pinch zoom in Google Maps is pretty slick :D
  11. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    btw, thanks guys!
  12. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it kept all your icons on the home screen and everything? i just put 7.3 on last night and am wondering if i should just go ahead and install 7.4.
  13. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    yup, everything was just how it was before!!! nothing changed, which is what i was concerned with since it takes so long to set these all up again
  14. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Did your news/weather widget disappear (they removed it from the 7.4 release) or if you already had it install, did it stay there?
  15. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea, i know what ya mean. i use the more icons widgets and it takes forever to put them together. cool. i may have to update again shortly.

    you just simply imstalled the new rom from the recovery screen (the screen where powering it on while holding x)? also, i just remove the old update.zip from my sd card and put the new one on? the old one doesn't need to be on there anymore?
  16. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    pretty much. just overwrite the old update.zip file when copying onto your SD card. but you do a reboot recovery via Droid Root Helper and install the zip from there. you dont need to power off and hold the X key, thats only before youre rooted i believe.

    just follow the instructions posted above, skip the red, and youre good. i literally did in a few minutes here at work :D
  17. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait a second fellas... if you do a nandroid backup and ONLY choose boot/system to be updated.. all your apps will stay the same, no?

    Smoked glass update is coming out tonight, so I definately will try that. I have a perfect nandroid backup of my phone now, so messing with a new update doesn't intimidate me a bit. Spending an hour or so to setup all my apps again.. well, thats a pain in the butt, I'd like to avoid that if possible.


    -Wil
  18. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The old update.zip was just for gaining root access. This Rom has root built into it so yes you can remove the old .zip and just put the new one on the card. If you dont have droid root helper then yes just boot into recovery mode (hold X and power) and do the install from there. I would really advise you install sprecovery first and make a back up of your phone just in case.
  19. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i went from the sholes rom to the BB 7.3 rom i did the hold x while powering on thing and installed the update.zip the same way i installed sholes. droid root helper did nothing but force close last time i tried it. doing things from the recovery screen seems easy enough to me.
  20. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not exactly. It just really depends on where the apps are on the phone. all of the apps in /system/app will be changed, but if you have all your downloaded apps in /data/app then you will be fine.