Noob question! Sorry if redundant. Panels

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by atkinsk750, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. atkinsk750

    atkinsk750 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this is already discussed somewhere. Totally new to Droid. Just got mine 2 days ago.
    I was wondering if there is an app that gives more than 3 "panels" on the home screen? Not that I have filled them up yet but at the rate that I am going I will. I love this phone already. It is too nice to even call a "phone".
    Any direction on "panel" apps would be great.

    Ken A.
     
  2. OMEGA5

    OMEGA5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, any number of home replacement apps will do this. I use GDE which allows up to 7 screens and costs a few bucks. Pandahome and home ++ I believe also allow you to do this and they are free.
     
  3. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home++ is one to try also. Or you could root your droid and install a custom ROM. See the hacks section of this forum.
     
  4. roflcopters

    roflcopters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, he JUST got his Droid. Don't get him into stuff like Rooting and flashing just yet.
     
  5. shademar

    shademar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berkeley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Launcher+ will allow screens to be added without changing the default appearance, home++ adds some different UI features and allows for up to 7 screens. There's also a 2.1 launcher you can install that has five screens.

    These are all home replacements, so after downloading and installing whichever you want to use, you'll see a popup asking what app you want to use when you hit the 'home' key. Just select the replacement (not 'home') and it'll launch that instead. You'll have to re-setup widgets and whatnot once you do.

    Good luck!
     
  6. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah you're prob right. Its hard for me to hide my enthusiasm since I recently did it though. lol
     
  7. bdbraaten

    bdbraaten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland that is Minnesota USA
    Ratings:
    +0