Noob question about going from one ROM to another

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by mswierse, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. mswierse
    Offline

    mswierse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently use Titanium backup and nandroid backups prior to doing anything to my phone. If I flash a new ROM, either a newer Liberty version our a totally different one, pitas there an ready way to get my phone set back up quickly with all my programs and data... Maybe even the layout of my desktop?

    I don't think I can just restore everything due to system files that I don't want to restore.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You can use a different launcher and restore backups of homescreens. It just wont restore widgets

    Boot Manager
     
  3. mswierse
    Offline

    mswierse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I use GO and just looked in the settings and created a backup.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    My apps have been reinstalling automatically lately. It's been getting the paid and free apps installed at almost 100%.

    As for app settings, I have been using Titanium Backup to restore only the app data. That way I can have all my Favorites and their login data back in Tapatalk immediately. I do not use it to restore anything else - just data to a few apps.

    Good luck.
     
  5. mswierse
    Offline

    mswierse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My apps don't seem to install themselves ever... hum.

    How do you restore only data... The only option I have is restore app or restore app+ data

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    As to the apps reinstalling automatically, you have to have the Backup and Restore blocks checked in the Privacy setting menu. Also, when the phone is going through the initial setup, after having installed a new rom, you will be given the choice to check some blocks about having save your apps and settings, you have to select those options.

    As to Titanium, do you have the paid version? When I tap on Tapatalk, for instance, I get a pop up and then select Restore. Another popup appears and the options are App, App & Data or Data Only.
     
  7. mswierse
    Offline

    mswierse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's interesting... I do have those two boxes checked in the Privacy menu... I don't remember the other question while installing the Liberty ROM, but it was my first ROM and I may have not understood what it was asking me lol.

    I had an issue when I installed a theme too... it told me I needed Desk Migrate, so I said yes down load it... it didn't do anything????
     
  8. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do you have the paid version of Titanium Backup? There are many more options available with the paid version. It is worth the cost.
     
  9. mswierse
    Offline

    mswierse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I don't, I'll pay for it though... Sounds like it's worth it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    I bought it a few days ago. Its way faster

    Boot Manager
     
Search tags for this page

flashing from one rom to another

,
how to flash a different rom
,
how to flash a rom for noobs
,

how to flash from one rom to another

,
is there anything you need to do when you go from one rom to
,
what's the best way to flash from one rom to another