Noob needs help

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Pineapple, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Pineapple
    Offline

    Pineapple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all-great looking forum.:icon_ banana:
    I have GPS coorordinates and would like to enter them into the Navigator but cant figure out on how to do it. Do I need to convert them or something? They are N 32 58.440 W 115 10.565
    Also, I got a text from a friend that has a sound that I want to save and use as a ringtone. I figured out hoe to save the Mp3 file into the SD card but don't know how to acces it and save for ringtone.
    Thanks in advance!:)
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't know what to tell you about your location, but as far as using your MP3 you can do that with an app called Ringroid. It's in the Market.
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    I used the car home and for the final location I entered

    N 32 58.440, W 115 10.565

    and it was able to read that. hope it works for you too
  4. Pineapple
    Offline

    Pineapple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Saweet! Thanks-worked for me too.:)
  5. boatman2220
    Offline

    boatman2220 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First thing is to get a file manager like Astro from the Market. It's free. You need that to find the file. OR, connect the phone with USB, mount the phone, create folders named Ringtone, Notification , Alarm, and Wallpaper. Drag and drop these folders into your memory card. then place what you want into the folders. Unmount the phone and reboot it. The phone will now find it. What ever you save as a download will be found in "download" you can use Astro to open and move the files.
  6. Pineapple
    Offline

    Pineapple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for that! I'm sure that will work once I actually put a SD card in the dam phone-DOH! lol Told ya I was a noob....:mad:
    This was so easy to do in my 4 year old "dumb" phone. This "smart" phone really means the user needs to be smart!
    I'm so glad I found this forum!:)
  7. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    Your phone didn't come with a 16GB SD card? I thought all Droids were shipped from the factory with them? And if you managed to save that MP3 file you were talking about -- where did you save it, if you don't have an SD card in there?
  8. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Nice!

    I never knew you could enter the co-ords into nav and have it work.. but it does!!!

    great tip :D
  9. allikanbe
    Offline

    allikanbe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    Your phone didn't come with an SD card?
  10. Pineapple
    Offline

    Pineapple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well now I'm confused...when I saved the file it said saved to SD card. I installed Atsro and had it look into SD card and it says no file found. When I press the camera button it says to "Please insert an SD card before using camera".
    So I just thought I need to get one.....
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pull the back cover off your phone (after a power down), pull the battery, and see if there's actually an SD card there. There should be. If your camera still doesn't recognize you have an SD card, try reformatting the SD card and see if that helps.
  12. Pineapple
    Offline

    Pineapple New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK there is a 16mb SD card in there. I removed and reinserted it and now Astro sees it and I was able to save as ringtone! I also got Handcent SMS and was able to save sounds and oics sent to me on TMS.
    THANK YOU ALL for the help!!!
  13. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe the card just came loose and wasn't getting a good connection. Who knows... but glad you got it working :icon_ banana:
  14. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    Or maybe you had it mounted as a USB storage device? You can't have your computer recognizing it as an external USB drive and use the SD card for phone-operations at the same time. If you try, the phone will complain that there's no SD card in there.
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good point Laurence. Seems I overlooked that possibility :)
Search tags for this page

android insert an sd card before using camera

,

insert an sd card before using camera