1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

noob here.

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by cool username, Mar 8, 2010.

1. cool username

cool username New Member

i started this thread as a reply in the in droidmod subsection but realized its more of a general question that i want to leave for anyone to answer...

i have my phone rooted with droidmod 1.0. i'm a complete noob, i just did it because it was easy and i knew i could endlessly customize my phone. however now that i've done it, i don't really know what to do now. i use home++ and the live wallpapers don't work on it... which i actually don't care about anyways. but what else can i do? what are these endless possibilities? besides overclocking, my phone is fast enough for me. and i don't really understand how roms work either... if i want to use a different rom, would i just put it on my phone in addition to the droid mod, or do i delete the droid mod??

sorry if this is a dumb question/thread but i'm pretty confused, lol.. any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

3. cool username

cool username New Member

umm...thanks...

i think i'm just gonna un-root. unless someone can actually help me. at least can someone answer the question about roms, do i have to get rid of my droid mod to use a different rom?
  4. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

I've not used Droid mod but my sense is that once you are rooted you have the flexibility to switch/change roms as often as you wish.

Mike
  5. christim

christim DF Super Moderator

The path is pretty much the same

1) root
    2) install sprecovery
    3) install rom

dmupdater, by droidmod, does all 3 steps automatically for you. Other methods, such as those in my signature file walk you through it manually.