Noob help sorry ;(

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by bryanbmx, Apr 21, 2010.

1. bryanbmx

bryanbmx New Member

I'm completely new to the modding of phones and ev erything was wandering if someone could help me out a bit tell me where and what programs I should get to change my home interface, clocks , icons an such maybe just a quick tutorial or something lol thanks n sorry for beong a noob.
  2. gardobus

gardobus New Member

Well what exactly do you want to change?

You can start off by trying Home Replacements. Some of the more popular ones include Home++, HelixLauncher1, HelixLauncher2, Panda Home, and there are other pay ones like GDE or OpenHome. These will change the number of screens you have, the way the tab at the bottom behaves, etc. They are all different so try them out. I prefer HelixLauncher1 or 2.

For clocks, I imagine you mean the big flip clocks and whatnot. For this I recommend Beautiful Widgets. Unfortunately it isn't free but it is well worth the money. It comes with a large and small version of the clock/weather widget. You can skin it with any of several skins, make it transparent, etc. It's a great app/widget.

For icons, you'll need BetterCut (also not free). It lets you replace icons on your homescreens with different images/icons. You can find free icon packs in the market by searching for "icon pack" but you will still need BetterCut to apply them.

Hope this helps. For more in depth help on these apps, try searching the forum. I'm sure each one has its own thread by now.
  3. bryanbmx

bryanbmx New Member

Awesome that helps a lot. What home replacement might you recommend? Or they all pretty much the same??
  4. nerdbox08

nerdbox08 New Member

I would suggest the helixlauncher.

It works much more smoothly than the other options.
  5. gardobus

gardobus New Member

Same here. HelixLauncher1 is the fastest/smoothest and HelixLauncher2 is nice if your phone will run it smoothly.
  6. aaf709

aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member