No weather while in dock...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Aaron636r, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked great for the first week I had my dock on the Droid. Tells me the weather.

    However, now for the past 2 days its blank. Just shows the fahrenheit "F" and that's it. Had it find my location, and it does but doesn't show me the weather.

    Dock isn't faulty maybe the phone is??
     
  2. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just loaded dockrunner to check mine, had no display, went to setup and had it do another auto search for my location, brought it back.
     
  3. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya, that isn't working for me. Just weird. But im anal about know the weather so its bugging me unfortunately.
     
  4. kmbert12

    kmbert12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Levittown, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where do you get dockrunner. Mine works sometimes but no display most other times. I've done the manual find and the automatic and still no display. WTF. I like the phone but I need it to do what it's suppose to do.
     
  5. nite 0wl

    nite 0wl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this issue occasionally when using the location based weather setting (weather based on current phone location). I found that it generally fixes itself if I manually enter a location. This might not be a great fix if you are a serious roadwarrior but if you only use the dock within a limited geographic area it doesn't pose a problem.

    I suspect this issue is down to issues with the phone determining your location due to lack of sGPS signal or difficulty establishing a suitably reliable aGPS location.
     
  6. rp683

    rp683 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, Just shows the fahrenheit "F" ... must be from the accuweather site.. hopefully they fix it soon...
     
  7. 928Droid

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, been working fine until the last couple of days. Tried new location, disable, enable, etc. No luck.

    Could be Accuweather server issue?

    I also downloaded Beautiful Widgets yesterday and using he Clock/Weather widget (works perfectly and so does The Weather Channel app), but pretty sure the problem started a day before that.
     
  8. rp683

    rp683 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems fixed.... anyone else?
     
  9. nite 0wl

    nite 0wl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was acting up on Saturday but it seems to be working fine today. For a while it would only work if I switched it to Centigrade or it would display temperature data but not weather conditions.
     
  10. Itamar

    Itamar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Occasionally, I have the same propblem. I've found that rebooting (turning off and on) the phone will cure the problem for a while. It seems to happen mostly after I've run a number of apps. Yes, it's very annoying.
     
  11. Itamar

    Itamar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ironicly, just after submitting the above post, the weather went out again. This time after rebooting, it still did not return. DOH!
     
  12. seeker222

    seeker222 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Possible Solution

    I had the same problem a few days ago, and it seems that my problem was caused by using Advanced Task Killer to kill the "Settings" task. I had been stopping it because I couldn't understand why the settings task had to be running, but once I stopped killing it, the weather came on and stayed on the phone while in the dock.

    Hope that helps others out there.
     
  13. jfourman

    jfourman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Accuweather could be the problem

    I have the "--F" issue on my dock as well. I just tried to "Manually search location" with my zip and then city, state. Both searches returned "No result found" which tells me that the dock is not connecting to Accuweather. I confirmed that my internet connection is working fine.
     
  14. rp683

    rp683 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As of last night mine wasn't working again... Still not working this morning either.
     
  15. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rinning 2.0.1 and still having the same problem