No way to enter a network proxy?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by prubin3, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. prubin3
    Offline

    prubin3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For a week I was loving my Droid but I'm frustrated today. At work (a school) I wanted to use our wireless network but in order to do so I need to enter a proxy setting (of the form http://proxy....pac) and I see no obvious place to do so. A search online has proven to be somewhere between fruitless and way too technical to bother with. I did have a brief hope when using the voice dialer, saying "proxy" and having a chance to enter the old settings we used to use that I believe still work (involves a port number) but to no avail. So what gives? iphones and ipod touches can do it. Blackberries can do it. I hear Windows Mobile phones can do it. Where's the Android love for us proxy users?

    Are there other web browsers for the phone that allow the proxy setting to be entered (ala firefox on desktop computers) though that won't work with other applications and therefore not be a real solution. Seems rather odd.
  2. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    there are apps on the market for your problem. Just search "proxy" in the market
  3. prubin3
    Offline

    prubin3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched in the market but none of the descriptions clearly indicated that this will work for me.
  4. daevans315
    Offline

    daevans315 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    Did you ever fine an app for the droid to do this. I can get on our corporate wifi but not get out because there is no way to enter a proxy.
  5. mgranja
    Offline

    mgranja New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try Autoproxy, it supports proxy.pac files, and it's not too technical. (You do need root, though). Just add a new proxy, put the link to the proxy.pac file, and click connect. It will autoconnect to that proxy always when you're on the same network, and disconnect when you're off. Just set it and forget.
  6. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Im not sure how but i know my dads cell runs off of his works proxy. i could find out how if your really curious but im too to lazy to ask him right now.
Search tags for this page
droid razr change proxy settings
,

droid x2 proxy

,
galaxy s4 pac proxy
,
galaxy s4 proxy pac file
,

pac file for proxydroid

,
proxy droid x2
,
proxydroid incorrect pac file
,

proxydroid pac file

,
proxydroid proxy.pac
,
set proxy .pac android
,
set proxy on droid bionic
,
socks5 proxy 50na50