No vibration for incoming texts.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by fisherman50, May 12, 2011.

  1. fisherman50
    Offline

    fisherman50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have looked through the forum and for any other solutions via google. I have also called tech support at Verizon and Motorola. Can someone confirm that my phone needs to be replaced?
    My D2G won't vibrate when receiving texts. It vibrates for calls and alarms. Yes, both the text app settings and the D2G sound settings have been set to vibrate. I have rooted the phone, so I am concerned about a warranty replacement. Could rooting it have caused the problem? Any reason to un-root and re-root? Any other ideas or thoughts? I have seen others with similar posts, but most people with the problem just didn't turn on the "vibrate" option in *both* places. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  2. Hawaiian Princess
    Offline

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hawaii
    One thing u don't wanna do is double post the same question. I believe a handful of ppl were trying to assist u. If anything, it could be a hardware issue and again, rooting would not have caused it. I suggest u have it checked out or have it replaced. However unrooting is what u may have to do. Good luck...

    sent from my Hawaiian Xoom...ALOHA
  3. fisherman50
    Offline

    fisherman50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hawaiian princess:
    I didn't know if I posted the question in the right place on the forum. I do appreciate the help. I just haven't had a solution yet. I will be patient.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  4. Hawaiian Princess
    Offline

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I know its ok. I checked my settings again, in Sound setting I have my Silent Mode checked and my Vibrate to always. try that then reboot again. not sure if it'll work but hey...gotta try all options right? Lol

    sent from the Hawaiian D2G
  5. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Vibration for messaging is independent. Go to messaging client, menu/settings and look for "vibrate".
  6. Hawaiian Princess
    Offline

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hawaii
    he's done that already in another post.

    sent from the Hawaiian D2G
  7. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    This. Set it to always vibrate.

    Only reason I know of it not to vibrate....

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  8. fisherman50
    Offline

    fisherman50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was about to sbf when I decided to start restoring some bloatware. I used root uninstaller. I restored vznavigator blockbuster amazon kindle and skype. It is now working again. I might try to freeze each one individually to see if I can isolate the cause. Too weird! But problem solved. Thanks everyone.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  9. cutiedroid
    Offline

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have these four apps, too, and the only one I actually use is Kindle. Calling these others bloatware, doesn't that mean that they're running in the background even if you haven't loaded them?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  10. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Odd, none of those are in most roms yet they have full functions....
  11. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    To an extent yes, but also because there wasting storage space.

    I agree with Angel. The apps are not your problem. Did you try the settings method here?
  12. fisherman50
    Offline

    fisherman50 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes all possibilities were tried with tech support and forum suggestions. Like I said ~ reinstalling the files I removed has enabled the text vibration feature. I will try to isolate the issue and see if I can recreate the problem if anyone is interested (besides myself). I am perfectly capable of choosing the correct settings to make it work. And like I said I had tech support at motorola unable to make it work either. They told me to replace the phone. That is why I was trying to restore it to stock by replacing those files I removed. I will update after removing the same files again (one at a time).

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
Search tags for this page
android skype no vibrate
,
android vibrate on incoming texts
,
droid 2 global not viberating
,
moto x is not vibrating text
,
motorola ilestone wont vibrate for texts
,
motorola milestone 3 wont quit vibrating
,
sg3 not vibrating
,
sg3 stopped vibrating
,

skype android doesn't vibrate

,
skype android not vibrating
,
skype for android message vibration
,
skype for android no vibration