No update yet

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by stratt28, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. stratt28
    Offline

    stratt28 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seacoast, N.H.
    Hello Everyone,

    Should I have received my update to 5.5.893 yet? I'm still on 5.5.886. I keep trying System Updates but it tells me it's not available and to try back later? Just wondering if there's a date before which the update should arrive.

    Thanks,
    Jody in NH
  2. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Same here, looks like our only option is to factory data reset. Shame cause I've spent hours organizing my Bionic just how I want it, so I'd rather not go through the hassle of backing everything up, resetting, and hoping everything re-installs no problem. One can dream...
  3. lykofos
    Offline

    lykofos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having the same issue and did a factory reset the weekend before the update was released. The factory reset solves the issue, but it does suck spending hours re-downloading apps and configuring your settings.

    There is an alternate option to factory reset though: you could always just download the official OTA file, save it on your sd card (the "sdcard-ext" directory when you're browsing from the phone), and install it from there via the stock recovery console.Here's a copy of the Official 5.5.893 OTA that I saved from the phone's cache before installing it:
    Blur_Version.5.5.886.XT875.Verizon.en.US.zip

    Here's a YouTube video detailing how to get into stock recovery mode on the bionic:


    Once you're in recovery mode you just select the option "apply update from sd card"
  4. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    The official announcement back in late October was "30 to 60 days" so it there's still time (the end of December). At this point, however, I'd be suggesting Factory Reset too. The problem of using the update mentioned above is that while you'll have the update, you still will be getting the "not available" message for future updates (including ICS).
  5. SILVER COUPE
    Offline

    SILVER COUPE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    double check your settings, i had mine set to only sync over wifi and did not see the update until i got home and switched from 4G to wifi.
  6. stratt28
    Offline

    stratt28 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seacoast, N.H.
    Thx coupe...the box for "only sync over wifi" is not checked...should I change that? Any other settings I should look at? I can certainly wait the 60 days timeframe.

    Thx for all the other replies as well folks!
  7. down1plus2
    Offline

    down1plus2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    I talked to a verizon rep. and they stated you can go into verizon store and they can plug pbone in and do the update for you.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Factory reset is usually a good idea anyways with an ota. It is a good idea for the system to be clean when installing new system items.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  9. MyEntityRemains
    Offline

    MyEntityRemains New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You need to do a factory reset to get rid of the "Unable to Check for Update" message.
Search tags for this page

5.5.886 not getting updates factory default reset