No sound on my droid razer

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by ChristianDaniels, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. ChristianDaniels

    ChristianDaniels New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a droid razer from my friend and went and got it activated. once i got home i realized that none of the sound would work for youtube or ringtones or anything. i tried installing a few apps that some other posts said to try, like the speaker cleaner app, and one other app. and another post said that theirs worked again after shutting it off and turning it back on. i tried that too and i still have no sound. I tried plugging in headphones and the sound works through the headphones but not through the phone. what should i do?


    P.S.
    the sound worked when my friend used the phone. but it doesnt now.
     
  2. bullswife98

    bullswife98 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sthrn Illinois
    Ratings:
    +5
    Is the volume in settings turned down?

    TAG YOUR IT! DROID RAZR using Droid Forums. :)
     
  3. ChristianDaniels

    ChristianDaniels New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got a droid razer from my friend and got it activated. got home, and noticed that none of the sound was working. i turned it off and turned it back on and it still didnt work. i tried downloading some of the apps that people have suggested in other posts, but none of them fixed it either. I tried plugging in some headphones and the sound works over my headphones. what should i do?
     
  4. ChristianDaniels

    ChristianDaniels New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope. i tried turning it up and down over and over like some other people have suggested and that doesnt work either.
     
  5. bullswife98

    bullswife98 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sthrn Illinois
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not sure what else it could be then. Sorry I wasn't any help.

    TAG YOUR IT! DROID RAZR using Droid Forums. :)
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    This has been a problem with some Razr's that the speaker components get disconnected and pressing on the areas by the camera will give you sound. If that it's the case then it is a hardware problem and may still be covered under warranty.
     
  7. JohnFH

    JohnFH Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    This sound issue is one of the bugs caused by ICS on the Razr. I had this problem a couple of months ago. I cleared the cache partition, and I've had no problems since then. If you can't find instructions for clearing the cache, I can post them.
     
  8. JohnFH

    JohnFH Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The other possibility is an external speaker connection problem, which has occurred in some Razrs
     
  9. jaye712

    jaye712 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Tis is right,its always been a problem,even "i"till today still got sound issues on n off.i know,its pretty annoying lol.did u do a fdr yet?it might help for the time being.
     
  10. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,602
    Likes Received:
    1,327
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,418
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Sometimes to jog it into working, go into system settings, sound, volumes...

    You'll have 4 icons, tap the ringtone and once year hear that, tap the top icon, that will sound like a door bell sort of...then try hearing the volumes..this should help get it going.
     
  11. dmwoods

    dmwoods Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    What apps did you try?
     
  12. dmwoods

    dmwoods Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0

    Did you try the SoundAbout app?
     
  13. jkaod

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    First thing you should do is a factory data reset if it has not already been done. Should fix the problem.
     
  14. Dmrussell

    Dmrussell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clean the Jack. Fuzz will get in there and give bad connection. Next get Soundabout app. This fixed my problem.
     
  15. xtor

    xtor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +68
    Go to settings, sound, click on your ringtone, then close out and you will have sound,works for me, it's a bug in ics

    point of origin
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr has no sound
,

droid razr no sound

,
my droid razr has no sound
,
no sound droid razr
,
no sound from my droid razr
,
no sound on droid
,
no sound on droid razr
,
no sound on my droid
,
no sound on my droid razr
,
why is there no sound on my droid razr