No Service after installing Liberty v1.5

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by EM74, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think i have just screwed my Global.

    I have rooted and installed the Liberty v1.5 on my Droid 2 Global. After rebooting I get NO SERVICE??!! When I try to make a phone call a message box pops up telling me to turn off Airplane Mode.....but airplane mode will not turn off. WTF?!? I have internet however I get no texts and no phone calls.

    I think i just read that the D2 is different from the D2 Global and shoud not be installed on the global???.....too late. Is there any way to fix this?

    How do I remove the Liberty and restore to the factory setting?? Or is there anywat to install a Droid 2 Global ROM over the Droid 2 Liberty ROM??

    Thank you for the help...
  2. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    What you are going to want to do is get the D2G version of fission and install it over liberty. To do this, go to team defuses website, download fission SPECIFIC to the D2G, boot into clockwork using liberty tookbox > reboot options > bootstrap

    From clockwork, navigate to the zip file you downloaded and install fission. The other way is to restore thru nandroid backup (which I am assuming you did not make one before you flashed to fission)

    No worries, but for future reference, ALWAYS make a nandroid before for flash any rom. Even if it is just an upgrade to the rom (like liberty 1.0 to liberty 1.5). That way, you will always have a backup plan

    From my Liberated Droid 2 (Liberty v 1.5)
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Have you tried just restoring service? Dial #228 option 1 and see if that doesn't get you going again.
  4. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dankarlinksi <------thank you sir!! Trying to locate Fission for D2G now.


    hookbill <--- I cannot even dial #228, the airplane mode message pops up
  5. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, lets try this...

    If you are still on Liberty, go to Settings>Libertysettings>Testing menu>Phone information

    scroll down and you'll see a box with "set preferred network type" Make sure it is either "CDMA auto (prl)" or "GSM/CDMA auto (prl)"

    Also, to get back before Liberty, hopefully you made a nandroid backup. If you did you can just restore it by rebooting into bootstrap/clockwork recovery. Choose Backup/Restore, then choose restore, then pick the date for the backup prior to Liberty.

    If you didn't make a nandroid backup, then you will need fission or (worst case scenario) SBF.

    Wait...Did you just install liberty? Did you flash the D2G_Romer_v5.zip afterwards. If you didn't then that is why you have no service. D2G Roms do not work on the Global with out some modifications (and even then the sensors dont work). See my sig for the link D2G Romer thread.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  6. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Buryboi <---- Good look on the Liberty Settings however I cannot change to CDMA, it doesnt register a selection for some reason. I did just install Liberty this morning and i did NOT flash the D2G Romer afterwards....to be noobish and honest, I'm not sure what that means...i'm still clumsily babysteppin through this ROM stuff.

    But I have downloaded Fission ROM Manager...first round of the zip file installation froze. Pulled Battery and will try again.

    I still want to give the bootstrap backup/recovery a try also.

    Guys, thank you for the heads up and i appreciate the patience as it's obvious i don'y know what the hell im doing....But I'm really digging the Liberty look and feel..i hope I can keep it..........I'll keep you posted
  7. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok...just tried backup/restore....No Files Found....I mustve not backed it up.

    On to the Fission
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  8. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Did you flash the team git-r-done global rom zip? If you want to keep liberty you can flash that to fix it or any other d2 rom for the global.

    tappin and a talkin
  10. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installing: SDCARD:download/FissionRomManagerLite_1.2.4.zip
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Installing update...

    showing frozen gray striped bar...yeah def frozen

    bummer....grrrr what am i doing wrong ??
  11. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In stead of trying to flash Fission Rom Manager, just try the actual fission rom a few post back...
  12. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Yeah. Fission rom manager is an app. You'll need to download the actual rom. They are usually between 50 to 100 mbs and in a zip file

    From my Liberated Droid 2 (Liberty v 1.5)
  13. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok....day 2 of the pain

    I have tried the Fission install..no good. Still no service and my keypad has been rendered useless.

    I am now going to try the D2G_Romer_v5.zip and the D2G_Sensors.zip
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2011
  14. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You have screwed the pooch somewhere. The ROMer will not work (at least, it's not very likely).

    My recommendation is that you wipe cache, wipe data, then SBF, THEN install fission.
  15. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh crap...I forgot...Fission only installs frameworks and apps...You need all the D2G other /system files...

    Get Angdroid stock deodexed moto blur for D2G Rom...that will fix you. I think the link is down so if anybody can share the link.

    and SBF will definitely take care of you as well.
  16. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds good....i hope....

    "Android stock deodexed moto blur" <--- is that an app? Available where?

    I'm finding various SBF links around these forums and others....Do you guys know the latest and greatest link??
  17. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-global/98652-rom-droid2-global-stock-rom-deodex-busybox-root.html

    That is the thread where he released it...The download link is dead though.

    It is the Stock Moto ROM, Rooted and Deodexed.

    Personally, since you don't have a factory backup anyway, SBF to factory might be easier/better (then before you do anything else, root and install Koush's bootloader and make a nandroid backup).

    SBFing isn't that bad, it's just not for the faint of heart and is much more reliable (at least for me) from a Windows XP computer (there are driver issues on Windows 7 when you get to 99% completed...sometimes it works anyway and sometimes it doesn't...)

    Info on the SBF can be found HERE But you will need to get RSD 4.9 (search google) and the most recent USB drivers (from moto's website)
  18. EM74
    Offline

    EM74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You guys are the Sh**!!!!!

    I have most if not all of my services back....

    I wiped/factory reset the D2G...
    Then installed the Liberty ROM...
    Then installed the D2G Romer...
    Then installed the D2G Sensor....
    Then Rebooted.....

    And BAMM!! dancedroid My D2G is back in business!!!! I am now restoring my google account and contacts and all that good stuff.

    Guys, THANK YOU MUCH for all the input as i could not have done it without you. Seriously, hell yeah for all your time and effort in helping out a droid noobie with some serious problems.


    Now its time to focus on Team-Get-R-Done D2G Romer tool....Specifically the sleep/wake issue....which I'm sure buryboi is very close to fixing... :yr1:

    See ya's on the Forums
  19. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you used a version of Romer prior to 5, your ok, but if you used 5, and then flashed the sensors.zip, your phone is gonna puke when it sleeps...not a bad puke, just an annoying one.

    Basically if you open the web browser, and tilt your phone to landscape and it automatically turns (without opening the keyboard) your gonna want to flash sensors again to turn them off.

    Glad you got it going! There is one piece of bad news though...I just checked and neither Fission or the Stock D2G Rom (the one we cant find a good download link to) include all the /system/lib files for the D2G. Short of an SBF, you will not be able to revert to D2G Fission.

    And regarding the senors, I wish I were closer...it feels like a moving target though...xPhoenix777 and 13th angel were on it last night (Here)!
  20. xPhoenix777
    Offline

    xPhoenix777 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kamalazoo, MI
    We will be at it again tonight I think. After I take a power nap to make up for lack of sleep last night :)

    Glad that you are closer to fixed. I would still recommend doing an SBF if you have any slight issues... so many ROM flashes can leave tidbits of junk that will lock it up or reboot it when you least expect it.
Search tags for this page

liberty service no rlunga aus