no recovery and back ups wont run? huh

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by paperdoll11789, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. paperdoll11789

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok im running bb VO.4 and decided to flash something else and it it wont let me go into a backup or into recovery and rom manager keeps telling me an error has happened what do you i do and or what do you think is happening?
     
  2. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    In Rom Manager, flash the alternate recovery (Spr) and then go and reflash the Clockwork Recovery. Then go and flash the older version of clockwork - 2.01.3. Continue to flash the 2.01.3 until you get the Successful Install popup really quickly - as in within a few seconds.
     
  3. paperdoll11789

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried that when i hit flash alt. it said an error occurred while attemping to run privileged commands i dont think i lost my root because i still have superuser
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Open superuser and make sure Rom Manager is checked. Then try it again.
     
  5. paperdoll11789

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow i feel dumb now i never thought to check that lol it works now sorry to waste everyones time in reading this haha
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Don't feel dumb. There was nothing "intuitive" about the solution. As I've said in other threads, we were all at your knowledge level at one time. It's just that we were there earlier. :)

    Hope everything works out for you.
     
  7. paperdoll11789

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. 713King

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is also an option do delete old recovery when flashing a new one. I would suggest clicking that option