No push for POP

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ToddP0530, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. ToddP0530

    ToddP0530 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canton, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    EVery review I've seen says there is no push mail for pop3 mail (i.e. yahoo), but there is push for gmail and microsoft server synch.
     
  2. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. cgaliffi

    cgaliffi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe you can also have your POP accounts forwarded through your Gmail account which will be pushed. I believe you can have up to 5 accounts forwarded to your Gmail account. Someone chime in and let me know if I'm right or wrong.
     
  4. ToddP0530

    ToddP0530 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Canton, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    cga ... you're right. If you have a yahoo account, or in my case an att.net account that runs through yahoo, it will not push. You have to set it at timed intervals to pull it.
     
  5. garrett

    garrett Silver Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +4
    there are 3rd party such as Seven that offer free 3rd party push email solutions..

    SEVEN Press Releases
     
  6. mrpush

    mrpush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link, however these solutions are incomplete.

    Complete Outlook, Exchange, Business data support would include the following:

    Calendar, Contacts, Tasks, Notes.

    This appears to only do first 2, which I believe the Droid will do anyway. It's incomplete and it's Androids (Googles) fault.

    Can anyone deliver a complete package on a new device?

    Thanks,

    MP
     
  7. danDroid

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +157
    Will there be push alerts for facebook, twitter, etc?
     
  8. garrett

    garrett Silver Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +4

    theres other free solutions just check out google
     
  9. mrpush

    mrpush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

    Sorry, I think I'm blaming the wrong people. Google wants to make money, so they want me to have to buys other apps to get the basic feature that I already had out of the box with a 4 year old xv6700.

    Its verizons fault. I now have a brand new smart phone that is not as smart as my 4 year old smartphone for business data out of the box.

    That is , not smart!
     
  10. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    But remember that the XV6700 was running Windows Mobile so Exchange Server stuff was pretty much native inside the OS. Opening Outlook was like opening up another Outlook session that mimics your desktop experience.
     
  11. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so what is bothering you. I'm guessing by reading your title. your pop3 email like my home _@cfl.rr.com isn't pushed to the phone? It has to be set to go check the email and see if there's something new in the in box.

    You can sign into your mails home paige again mine rr.com and set the mail to forward to your gmail acct. I do this with BB already. I also have it set to leave a copy on the server. Then I can open outlook at home later and pull it down too if necessary
     
  12. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also another point is that POP3 email is never pushed.

    IMAP email can replicate push via IMAPIdle, but the server has to support it.

    Do any phones support push POP3 natively?
     
  13. mrpush

    mrpush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stigy,

    I do understand what you are saying, but that is not the point.

    We are end users here.

    Lets say you bought a car from Dodge 4 years ago. It had wipers and headlights "out of the box".

    You goto Dodge today and buy a new car. It does not offer headlights or wipers.

    Do you really care that although Dodge sells the car, that it was made by another company in China?

    You want AT LEAST the features that you had before, no matter who designed the car or who actually made it, right?

    Would Dodge sell any cars that did not have wipers and headlights?

    No, Dodge has better judgment than that and they would plan for all envolved, not matter who it is, that if they are goin to sell the cars they need to make sure they have these options.

    Its really just BAD design and planning.

    I can't believe these companies deliver half-baked devices and I can't believe that consumers will still buy them this way.

    Thanks,

    MP
     
  14. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes but this is like buying a car from Dodge 4 years ago and it coming standard with lights and washers and the HEMI badge on the back.

    Now you are going to Toyota and they don't offer the HEMI badge standard.

    Two different companies we are talking about here.

    Windows Mobile specializes in their Windows OS and it works seamlessly with Exchange because its Windows to Windows...

    I hope that makes more sense though.
     
  15. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if dodge to out a feature cause i wasn't as good as what is being sold now?
     
Search tags for this page

account pushpull.it

,

android pop3 push email

,

no outlook push reviews on motorola droid