1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No problems here... is it just me?

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by killdashnine, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. killdashnine
    Offline

    killdashnine New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've not experienced any issues with messaging. I find it kind of difficult to believe that I am the minority here. I'm not using the store in memory options and have been using Handscent for my messaging. I've received all my messages to date.

    Is there any way to replicate the issues you guys were having? Is my phone impervious to ROM faults? Inquiring minds want to know.
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011
  2. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    I haven't had any issues either, or atleast I haven't noticed anything yet. lol I've been running PE GB since they released it.

    Definitely on of the best Rom's I've used.
  3. PARick
    Offline

    PARick New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it depends. Most of the problems are correctable. But, in my case, I think Touchdown is so big that it won't function properly. If my Touchdown worked with this ROM I would reinstall it. But, for now, 4.2 will have to do. And yes, it rhymes!
  4. killdashnine
    Offline

    killdashnine New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See there again.... I run Touchdown for my work email, and it has been working fine. I confused (a little concerned) about the discrepancies.

    Was Touchdown just not notifying you? I run a touchdown widget, maybe that keeps it in memory??
  5. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    How much free Ram do you guys have. If you have a large amount you may not be having problems. The lock in memory helped the mms issue, but I started getting some issues like no 3g after call, downloads getting killed, widgets not updating, etc. It is still one of the best GB builds out now IMO.
  6. diggy488
    Offline

    diggy488 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think since we all desire different features and uses, we trigger different actions on the phone. I'm pretty simplistic and don't listen to too much music, nor do I like fancy animations. So I don't see a lot of the issues others are finding. I use just a handful of apps while others use 30+ apps and find out there's conflict. So each person's mileage varies. :greendroid:
  7. PARick
    Offline

    PARick New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Notifications were fine. The send button wouldn't work unless I saved as draft, exited, then went back in. Also alot of FCs. I locked it in and that did not help. I use the widget as well. it was just too erratic. Also, I had to touch the liscense key constantly to get full features. And no, I did not have either on my SD card. And yes, I have plenty of space :)
  8. killdashnine
    Offline

    killdashnine New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    30-40M... from what I see. Where can you see this?

    I just ran ATK widget and it shows what's free after killing apps.
  9. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Setting -> Applications -> Manage App's

    It should say how much RAM is currently being used, and how much is free at the Bottom of your screen.
  10. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Don't use automatic task killing. Manually kill apps if you have too. Free ram can be viewed in settings>applications>running services. 30-40mbs isn't bad. 60 is better. I am actually back to 4.2 right now as my Ram was lower than 30 and I needed everything to be working correctly at the moment.
  11. killdashnine
    Offline

    killdashnine New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, 57/58 free.

    So, is it safe to say if I have an adequate amount of memory, I should be ok with my messaging/touchdown notifications?
  12. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY

    Probably, but I would lock your messaging into memory just in-case.