No Network No Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by geodude, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. geodude

    geodude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone

    Is it true that the Verizon Droid will totally stop functioning if there is no network?

    My wife is in Paris and she can't even use the thing as a simple music player because there is no network.

    I know to expect the worst from Verizon, but even a 20 dollar MP3 player is better than this thing if it shuts down every time the signal drops.

    Is there a way around this?

    Thanks
     
  2. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what she is doing wrong, but basic functions like music playing, and all PDA functions except synchronization to the network (and of course email) work fine without a network of any kind.

    Alan
     
  3. diverbelow

    diverbelow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if her WiFi will not even work, since US and Europe wireless are totally different.
     
  4. symdev88

    symdev88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well if she is in paris, do as they do and............ RETREAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  5. maxnicks

    maxnicks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not fair. The French don't retreat. They simply hold both hands in the air yelling "I GIVE UP!" Then they help the enemy and pretend they are The Resistance.

    My Droid worked fine off network when I was on a cruise. I first made sure that my phone was in Airplane Mode. After that, everything worked fine.
     
  6. symdev88

    symdev88 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    sorry, my bad!!!
     
  7. wolfpack_lamb

    wolfpack_lamb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in Italy last month and had no problems with my Droid working on wifi, as a music player, or any other function that a network connection was not required. Your wife either has a bad phone or is exaggerating how little the phone is working.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. dakster

    dakster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clearly all of her droid's functionality is stuck behind the Maginot Line. The missing functions simply need to go into Belgium, and then come around the Maginot line, and they'll have full use in France.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use droid with no network
,
does motorola droidx verizon work in italy
,
motorola droid shows no network
,
will my android work in paris
,

will my droid charge work in italy