1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No Netowrk connection fixed by reading Driod forums

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Camdog916, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. Camdog916
    Offline

    Camdog916 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    So I haven't had network on my Bionic all freaking day. So I decided to go into my local Vz store. I really didn't want to cause these guys at this store have no clue about tech support. So after telling them that I have already turned my phone off and on, turned the phone off again and took out the battery they TURN THE PHONE OFF AND TAKE OUT THE BATTERY. What did they think them doing it would magically make my network work? IDIOTS!!! So they tell me the famous OH WE NEED TO RESET YOUR PHONE. Ummmm no. I have over 100 apps on my phone and I don't want to download them again. They tell me to call customer service. So I decided to come home and do a little goggling. I did and it brought me to Droid Forums and I got my solution. Go to settings under battery and data manager. Select data delivery and make sure data enable its checked. Somehow my data was unchecked. I mean why can't these people at the stores fix anything? They have no clue what they are talking about when you have a problem with your phone and barely know anything about selling a phone.
  2. Al Neri
    Offline

    Al Neri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    I used to get upset with them until I realized that not eveveryone is into phones and even though it's their job they probably only know the bare essentials. At Verizon there are too many phones for them to be experts on them all. I now just feel lucky when I get someone in the store who knows anything at all about the droid phones.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'd rather be lucky than good any day but it's true the forums are full of answers-the trick is to always stop by & write in when you make a discovery like this so someone else who had that "oh man my device is screwed and I'm going to be out some $$$" feeling; can find a solution here like you did today, good to hear.
  4. Ansa82
    Offline

    Ansa82 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad you got it going again...do you know, is Data Roaming suposed to be checked also? I just checked on my phone and Data enabled is checked but data roaming?
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Glad you got your phone fixed!!! I did want to point out that Google is at about 100% on reinstalling apps lately, assuming you have Backup and Restore checked in the Privacy setting. After doing a reset and putting in your gmail and password the setup program asks if you want Google to backup and restore your newly reset phone. Make sure both of those questions are checked and Google will reinstall your paid and free apps (well, that's been my experience lately and I've been flashing new/udpdated roms about once per day). Just passing on some info - not saying you should have done the reset.

    Good luck.
  6. Lakilaulea
    Offline

    Lakilaulea New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    I had to factory reset my Bionic twice, and both times I also had to reload all my paid and free apps, so I can see how the OP was reluctant to do so on his phone. I'm trying to root my unrootable phone now so I can get Titanium Backup and not have to go through that again, because, quite frankly, it was effing painful.
  7. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    On a suggestion I installed Apps List Backup, which is supposed to help when you need to reinstall apps.

    I know what you mean about a Verizon employee resetting your phone. When I had my OG Droid, all apps with a compass would go off 90 degrees. For example, I had the phone pointing East and it said North. Battery pulls and off and on didn't work. Well, I took it to Verizon. The tech looked at it and said I had 90 apps running at the same time. She must've looked at my App Menu rather than the running apps, but she suggested I reset my Droid. She did so and it was a pain to get them back. Yeah the paid ones are there, but the free ones you have to remember.

    BTW, it didn't help me, in terms of the compass. It must've been an app that was causing it.

    You gotta watch your Verizon employees. When I had my Voyager, the TV part was coming to my city and would cost $15 extra per month. There was a second data package that added that in for $5 per month less. I asked if when I activated it, would my data plan be automatically changed. They said "Yes" and it didn't. I complained and they deducted the $5 and changed my plan.
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  8. WarMachin3
    Offline

    WarMachin3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, Pa
    Just asa temporary fix I just toggle the airplane mode with the widget it does the job when the bionic drops for me

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    There is also the Restart Connection app.
  10. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I think people should stop pushing this app in the bionic forums as a possible answer, it's got horrible reviews in the marketplace and should not be considered a solution to the connectivity drop.
  11. Lakilaulea
    Offline

    Lakilaulea New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    It may have gotten bad reviews in the marketplace, but there were enough folks in this forum who gave it glowing reviews to make me want to try it out, and you know what? It works for me as well. I don't think anyone here is trying to "push" it necessarily, just stating what's worked for them personally. And I'll take the recommendation from a fellow Bionic user over a random guy in the marketplace any day.
  12. dlo-htown
    Offline

    dlo-htown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I've been using this app regularly for the past 3 weeks. It's the only thing that works reliably on my Bionic to get my data connection re-established.

    So, YMMV, but for my Bionic at least, this app does what it says it does, and keeps me from wanting to chuck my Bionic against a brick wall sometimes.
  13. indee2025
    Offline

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Glad it works for ya, but it's not random comments, some are from other bionic owners, I experienced the same on my bionic, definitely a YMMV scenario....but I'm still skeptic & think that app is just a flying spaghetti monster...
  14. Calla969
    Offline

    Calla969 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The issue the OP is talking about is not the data drop that everyone is so familiar with. I've had this happen to me as well. I was flashing a ROM and setting things up. I had a nice solid 3g connection and all of a sudden, it was gone. I tried everything and I could not get data to return. I was losing my mind and getting pissed. I started going through all of my settings and found the exact same thing the OP found. Somehow, by no interaction from me, my data had been disabled. I checked "data enabled" and bam, data was back. Not sure what happened, but while i was doing other things with my phone, data disabled itself. Simple fix, but it drove me nuts for about an hour.
  15. Gudasau
    Offline

    Gudasau Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Restart Connection was the first app I downloaded when I got my Bionic. (I had been reading & researching the forums for quite awhile before I was able to upgrade) I have never had to do anything other than press my little Restart Connection app when I've had a connection fail. It has gotten me back up and running immediately. No airplane mode, no power-down/power-ups, no battery pulls, no bald spots from pulling my hair out. I've had great luck with it. But as others have said YMMV...
  16. BeerManMike
    Offline

    BeerManMike New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I don't think it's because there is alot of phones to learn about, it apathy and lack of incentive to do so. They only need to learn ~10 of the hottest phones out at a time. It's the fact that when Joe Blow walks into his nearest Verizon store he is going to find X person and ask about Y phone that was being marketed to him on the football commercial or by his friends, it doesn't matter if X person is knowledgeable about Y phone or not. It's not King of the Hill where if you offer great customer service you get the person to come back to you over and over or they tell 20 of their friends to go see you, they won't travel across town just for that. Also what if you build a client base of 5 or so people that will only deal with you or ask for you when buying something? You only see them every 2 years anyways, who knows if you'll be at that store working still?

    Same goes for Bestbuy and their "geek squad" no person that really knows about computers well enough to fix all those customers that come in everyday would work at Bestbuy's geek squad, they hire people that have slightly more know how about computer than your average customer and maybe a person or two that is a "manager" that actually knows something about computers. People always ask me to fix their computer and it's just not worth it to me to spend all that time doing this or that, I would have to charge them $100-$200 bucks to make it worth my while, which is a rip-off to them, which Bestbuy also sees harm in doing to them. Point is, for Verizon to hire someone that actually knows all about the 10 or so best phones out at any given period, they would have to pay him/her alot more than Joe schmoe off the streets, so they hire regular people to sell phones.
  17. brandonsmash
    Offline

    brandonsmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Restart Connections app works usually for me to work around the data drop issue, but it's still a serious issue (I've replaced the phone once and called VZW tech support twice). A work-around is not at all a fix!
  18. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry to also quote you, but I have to say for others who see this thread I just checked the marketplace, and it actually has 4 1/2 stars. Of the 8 Bionic comments I read, only one said it didn't work. My connection doesn't really go out often enough for me to test it, but I'm downloading it now and when/if it does happen again, I'll be sure to report back.
  19. Calla969
    Offline

    Calla969 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the app. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Never hurts to try though. I wouldn't give it a low rating. It does restart your connections.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
data connection fix android
,

droid bionic no service fix

,
how do restore network connection on a droid 3
,

how to fix android internet connection

,
how to fix internet connection motorola droid
,
how to fix internet connection on droid bionic
,
how to make new connection on my droid bionic
,
how to reset connection on my droid bionic
,
how to reset droid connectivity
,
how to reset internet connection on motorola droid 2
,
my driod always loses service
,
no network connection, droid 4, how to fix
,
reset network settings android
,
reset network settings droid dna
,
resetting connections on bionic