No more speed dial...

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by blackterry, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. blackterry

    blackterry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    WTF .... why..?? Jelly bean is a total turd...!!
     
  2. motty69

    motty69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol! Yes lack of speed dial makes the whole OS terrible. Geez...

    Sent from my RAZR MAXX HD
     
  3. blackterry

    blackterry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    When you operate a business and call 5 to 6 key employees multiple times per hour it's a huge deal... If you just play games with yours then no it wouldn't be....
     
  4. Scott1974

    Scott1974 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. To remove a feature like Speed Dial... it doesn't make sense. I'm going to assume that this was an oversight and that a fix will be made? This has been a key feature on phones for years - why remove something like this?
     
  5. jaseman

    jaseman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    I hear your pain, but if you look in widgets and drag "direct dial" to one of your screens it will open your contacts for you to choose which one you want to link to the direct dial widget. You can do this numerous times and stack the widgets on top of one another so they do not take up your entire screen. Then when you touch the direct dial widget it will open with all of the ones you created and you can choose the one you want. I know it's not the same but that's what "they" chose to replace speed dial. :frown:
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Thanks jaseman. I didn't consider that. I like that idea. I think I'm going to get rid of my huge direct dial widget.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
     
  7. motty69

    motty69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are multiple ways to work around speed dial, like adding favorites (which I actually prefer to speed dial anyway) or installing one of multiple apps. There's also the excellent suggestion jassman made a few posts up.

    You could also use a different dialer that supports speed dial.

    There's also always the option to go back to ICS if it's that big of a deal to you.

    Look at that, I stopped "just playing games" long enough to answer you, Capt. Snark. :p

    Sent from my RAZR MAXX HD
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  8. greggb

    greggb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go to the play store there is an app called Speed Dial Old school works better than google's speed dial. I agree they shouldn't have removed the old one
     
  9. vikingjunior

    vikingjunior New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what people are complaining about this solution works just fine Thanks.
     
  10. newell123

    newell123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    they need to bring back speed dial. It was so much easier

    The widgets take a long time to set up and do not work as well. New system designed by morons
     
  11. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    930
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +945
    Y'all don't like the favorites? I think this is the best solution..

    《Take Note2 BK's here..》
     
  12. Eagle001

    Eagle001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So using Favorites I have to hit the phone 3 times before making the call, phone dialer-favorites-then the person? 3 times...
     
  13. DeSoto

    DeSoto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    absolutely unacceptable
    I have to exit the dialer in order to use any apps
    Favorites takes too many clicks
    I used the speed dialer multiple times on any given day
    I guess Im going to have to remove the update
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  14. jr6ooo4`

    jr6ooo4` New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    20 Miles Nw of Walt Disney's Birthplace!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I prefer the "Direct Dial" buttons.

    Mikeeee
     
  15. tech_head

    tech_head Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Ratings:
    +52
    I loved speed dial. Now it's gone. I'll live though.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr hd speed dial
,

droid razr maxx hd speed dial

,
droid razr maxx speed dial
,
droid razr speed dial
,
how to set speed dial on droid razr
,
how to setup speed dial on droid razr
,
razr hd speed dial
,
razr maxx hd speed dial
,
setting up speed dial on razr maxx
,
speed dial droid razr maxx