No longer using rom manager is SPRECOVERY still a go?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jbrock98, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. jbrock98

    jbrock98 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently stopped using clockwork recovery I'm using sprecovery, when I first rooted sp is wat I used then I bought rom manager and flashed clockwork, recently I flashed sprecovery in rom manager and am choosing to stick w/ sprecovery, when flashing new roms after wiping and my apps reinstall I don't re flash sp w/ rom manager is that ok? Its seems to be working fine only I've noticed the progress bars when I install something in sp don't always go full but says the file install is complete, so I was just wondering should everything be ok even tho I never open rom manger and re flash sp?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. dodgersrgood

    dodgersrgood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya once you tell it to flash sp you shouldnt have to do it again unless you flash clockwork. sometimes the bar not going all the way happens to me but that has never actually caused a problem i dont think
     
  3. jbrock98

    jbrock98 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Word.... thanks

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. erikfig

    erikfig Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rom Manager is getting tricky after the latest updates. CM get corrupted every now and then. I need to flash SP in order for CM to work properly. There is a bug with the latest updates.
     
  5. jbrock98

    jbrock98 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah that's why I quit rm/cw recovery always breaking downloaded files sometimes got corrupt plus ULTIMATE DROID is where its at so I'm sticking w/ sp

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    As a member of the rescue squad, I purchased RM/CW so I could help others. I prefer SPRecovery so I keep it flashed. I've not updated RM for quite some time. SPRecovery is a more stable and reliable process, in my opinion.
    mike
     
  7. rlarson_mn

    rlarson_mn Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Every time I have to do an update to rom manager it consistently messes my unit up. My fix is to make a rom backup, completely uninstall rom manager and then do a fresh install. So far that has solved my issues at least.
     
  8. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    exactly... personally i think rom manager causes more problems then its worth.

    if you cant get a rom on your phone by doing it manually yourself you shouldn't be doing it to begin with.
     
  9. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    never had problems with Rom manager..might just be user error.
    Although it may take a couple of tries to flash back SP recovery, first time i tried to flash back to sp it wouldent boot into recovery, so i flashed clockwork again and then flashed sp recovery again and it worked fine.
     
    #9 eliassami5, Jul 19, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  10. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    As a constant user and backer of ClockWork, I can honestly say that Rom Manager updates 'HAVE' been buggy on a couple occasions...... not sure why they keep updating both RM & CWM, especially when they get it running efficiently again.

    That being said, I will still stick with CWM since I have had good results with it 99% of the time... including just within the last few hours... switching from BB v0.4 to UD 3.5 and back again...

    So sorry, but the comment about it being just user error is just plain ignorant.... no offense intended...
     
  11. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    well when you get people coming here crying for help cuz they have only had their droid for a week and have already started rooting and trying different roms via rom manager, you cant help but conclude that its due to user error. Like not wiping before installing roms or not making backups or a million other things. But when ppl who are familiar with rom manager start experiencing issues then yea its probably due to the app itself.

    Its just annoying to see everybody ride the bash train sometimes, but this does seem like its not user error so im sure it'll be ironed out soon.
     
    #11 eliassami5, Jul 19, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010