No longer able to open ddms.bat...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Big Lou, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a strange problem. In the past, I've been able to open ddms.bat in the SDK tools folder without a problem. However, recently, whenever I try to run it, a dialogue box opens but closes quickly; no program starts up.

    I'm wanting to use this for taking screenshots for my guides.

    Thinking back, I also recently loaded Motorola USB drivers onto my PC around the same time this stopped working. How can I delete or disable these drivers to see if this fixes the problem?
     
  2. biggestmexi

    biggestmexi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try a program called USBdeview with your droid plugged in.

    it will see all the drivers your pc is using at the time and that should come up.

    But hopefully you can find a fix for this because i have yet to be able to open mine
     
  3. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I was able to screen grab the split second command prompt that is loaded when you try to open ddms.bat...

    'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
    SWT folder " does not exist.
    Please set ANDROID_SWT to point to the folder containing swt.jar for your platform.

    So, I did a search for android_swt, and came up with nothing. Anyone know how to fix this?
     
  4. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, so I researched the problem further and ended up downloading and installing the Java Development Kit. It works now!

    Java SE Downloads - Sun Developer Network (SDN)

    The thing that boggles my mind is that I know I never had the JDK before, but it somehow still worked... strange.
     
  5. doug piston

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    good find. but if i remember correctly i have the java and my ddms still doesnt open. ill check tonight and maybe redownload the java.
     
  6. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    On another machine, I tried opening ddms.bat with java installed, but it still doesn't work!

    Frustrating!
     
  7. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    You know i went to open eclipse today and it gave me the same bs....that i had to download the Java kit now....go figure.
     
  8. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok got mine up and running again, adding the java kit to paths didn't even work, ended up having to install the jdk directly into the eclipse directory for everything to work correctly.
     
  9. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still not able to open ddms.bat or ANY executable on this computer!!! THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING!

    Anyone have a solution? It's probably not a driver problem.
     
  10. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Any executable? So if you open a dos prompt and type 'notepad' it fails? What does it say?
     
  11. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean, any of the executables within the SDK folder.
     
  12. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ah OK ... I thought there might have been something majorly wrong with your system.

    So, from a command prompt, do all exe's or cmd's give the same error? What is the error, since you fixed the JAVA one?
     
  13. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, here is what it is saying when I try to run ddms.bat from CMD.

    Unable to access jarfile lib\archquery.jar
    SWT folder '' does not exist.
    Please set ANDROID_SWT to point to the folder containing swt.jar for your platform.

    What does this mean?
     
  14. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently I'm supposed to add something to PATH. What exactly should I add?
     
  15. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Java dependency.

    I solved all my issues by just downloading the Java Development kit and installing it into my eclipse folder.

    Not had a single issue since.
     
Search tags for this page
ddms bat can not open
,
ddms batch file android
,
ddms is not working
,
ddms no suitable java found
,
ddms not working
,

ddms.bat

,
ddms.bat not working
,
droid x ddms error deprecated
,
java is not recognized
,
monkeyrunner unable to access jarfile archquery.jar