no internet over wifi

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by purity, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. purity

    purity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +1
    my maxx connects to my home wifi just fine, but when i am at work i can connect to the wifi but not receive any internet connection at all. my wifi icon and my 4g icon are both greyed out in my notification bar and i receive no data even though it says i am connected to the network. if i open the browser, run an app, or attempt to sync it fails because there is no data coming from the wifi. if i turn off wifi my 4g works just fine so its strictly a wifi problem. i used to be able to connect to the company wifi just fine on my maxx, and i can still connect to the wifi with my asus transformer tablet with no issues at all as can everyone elses cell phones and laptops, the problem can not be the wifi it seems only limited to my razr maxx. the tech support says the phone is definitely connected to the wifi because they can ping it on the network and everything looks good, but no internet connectivity on my phone still. it used to work but now it doesnt, any ideas? ive tried forgetting the network and relogging in as well as rebooting the phone and no luck. any help is appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +86
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    Try using a wifi re-associate app.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible 2.
     
  3. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    When you are connected to the network, are you getting an outside IP? I mean, does it start with something like 192.xxx or is it 162.xxx. The later is not giving you Internet access but only on their network.

    Have you tried removing (as in Forget, not just disconnect) the connection and adding it again?
     
  4. purity

    purity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +1
    the wifi reassociate doesnt seem to be doing anything for me but i dont know what im doing with it really. yes ive tried forgetting the network and re adding it again but to no avail. my ip begins with 192.xxx when i pull up the browser i will get the google homepage logo but nothing beyond that will load and i get the webpage unavailable error screen. thanks for the help guys.
     
  5. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hmmm. Have you tried going into Manage Apps and clearing the data and cache?
     
  6. purity

    purity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +1
    i have not. what app/cache would i be clearing exactly? thanks again.
     
  7. DocsDad

    DocsDad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Funny, I just noticed the same thing sitting at the airport's open wifi. Wifi and 4G turn gray and won't connect data. Turn off wifi, and 4G turns blue and good to go. Must be a Verizon glitch as I never had this happen before.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
     
  8. eddie7

    eddie7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +4
    The same thing happened to me last week. I was staying at a hotel near Disney Land. It was an open wifi as well with strong signal. But the indicator was grey and would never connect to the internet.
     
  9. DocsDad

    DocsDad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am home now and wifi and data are working seem less together. Weird.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
     
  10. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    You spoke of your browser so I'm assuming you can connect with other apps? If it's your browser, from your home screen go Menu>Manage Apps>All and select Browser. Then Clear Data and Clear Cache. Hopefully if there's something funky going on with your wifi and browser that will flush it out. But it sounds like some others have posted a similar problem that just resolved itself, so maybe that's not it.

    Hope it works!
     
  11. purity

    purity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +1
    no i said in my original post its everything, apps, browser, sync, nothing is receiving data over wifi.

    strange thing when i got in to work this morning my wifi icon was blue and no longer greyed out but i still couldnt receive any data. then i tried disconnecting and reconnecting and it was greyed out again. this is getting annoying.

    im starting to think since others are having this issue with public wifi but not there home wifi it must be a particular type of wifi setup/signal whatever that the razr does not like. my home wifi works perfect, work wifi does not. i have not tried any open public connections.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2012
  12. jjstiff

    jjstiff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re: Droid RAZR MAXX cannot connect on wifi

    I was having the same problem. Brand new Razr Maxx, when I tried to connect to my wifi: it obtained an IP address but could not connect through the browser.

    dancedroid Solved: On my router settings I changed the wireless security from WPA/WPA2 to WPA only.

    My router is a NetGear WRN2000 on version 1.2.3.7NA. When I tried WPA2 by itself or WPA/WPA2 the phone was unable to connect to the internet with Wifi Enabled.

    I forget why I ever enabled WPA2 but i think there was a reason. I need WPA because my linux's realtek wireless card does not support WPA2. That's why I had WPA/WPA2 enabled on the router. Soon enough, I am sure, I will find out which device used WPA2. I already had to tell my Windows Vista to use WPA and not WPA2.

    I had the build number 6.5.1-167_DHD-14_M2-5, Dec 28, 2011 installed. A bit to my surprise my brand new phone is actually more than 5 months old. Since then there has been a software update: so I updated to build 6.5.1-167_DHD-14_M3-8, Mar 8, 2012 (System Version 6.12.181.XT912.Verizon.en.US). Unfortunately, the problem still exists: I can only connect when my router is set to WPA but not WPA/WPA2. :cus:

    This is a problem that I hope Motorola/Verizon resolve. I notice that they have been tackling software issues with the wifi since the launch of the MAXX. I hope this becomes part of their issues.
     
  13. TheDroidURLookinFor

    TheDroidURLookinFor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Interesting...I have no problems with WPA2 at home or at work.
     
  14. jjstiff

    jjstiff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe it's Netgear WRN2000 v1 only...

    Well, I went to do laundry today and, to my surprise, I was able to connect to the WPA/WPA2 network. It turns out they even have the same router. However the difference is that mine is not labeled with a version but theirs is the WRN2000 v2. So this whole issue could be inherent to the routers in use. Again, I would recommend setting your router to WPA only if you are having the problem of aquiring an IP but not able to connect to the internet.
     
  15. RazrMaxxOwner

    RazrMaxxOwner New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem with home Wireless n connection switched to wps and that fixed it. Wps is individual to phone. ..
     
Search tags for this page

android wifi connected but no internet

,
droid maxx wifi connected wont pull up internet
,
droid razr maxx will not connect to internet
,
internet not working on android wifi
,
my droid razr maxx connects to home wifi but nothing outside
,
my droid razr maxx connects to wifi but will not connect to
,
phone connected to wifi but no internet
,
razor maxx, cant connect to internet
,
razr wifi no internet
,
wifi connected but no internet access on droid maxx