No HDMI out

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by Uglymouse, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I just got a cable to use the mirror mode but it doesn't seem to work. I cannot get any video or audio out. What do you think the problem could be?
  2. pdc419
    Offline

    pdc419 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Unfortunately it could be your TV. I have a transformer and on their forums there is a big discussion about this. Something about hdcp I think. Anyways what I got from this is the HDMI works with some TVs and not others. Sorry I couldn't be of more help

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
  3. pilot12
    Offline

    pilot12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Could be your cable connection. Mine started right up when I plugged it in, but I immediately noticed that if I moved the phone a little that I would lose the connection. It's like it is a little loose on the phone end. Worked fine when I just left the phone laying still. Try making a firmer contact and try a different brand cable. Inspect the micro HDMI port for pin damage.
  4. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Does mirror mode mirror the whole phone or just movies & photos.
  5. pilot12
    Offline

    pilot12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Whole phone. There might be exceptions that I haven't found, but it appears that whatever is on your phone is mirrored on the big screen.
  6. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    My coworker's Droid 3 works with the cable and the tv, so it looks like it is my phone, right?
  7. MacDuffie
    Offline

    MacDuffie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not necessariy. I would try a new cable first. I have the HD Dock and couldn't get anything to appear on my monitor when the HDMI cable was plugged into the dock. But it worked when I plugged it directly into the phone's HDMI port. So I exchanged the dock - and with the new dock, everything is working just perfectly.
  8. donnycouchpotato
    Offline

    donnycouchpotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ran the hdmi cable direct to my 50" Samsung plasma, using mirror mode on the phone it instantly showed the display of the phone on the TV mimicking my every move, however when I tried to get the NFL mobile AP to stream video, it wouldnt. Any suggestions?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. Metalunna
    Offline

    Metalunna New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ha..i just posted this over at motorola:

    Hi,
    Was curious if anyone's HDMI port is finicky. I dont use a dock, just an hdmi cable to my tv.* I noticed that with the slightest movement of the cable or phone, the hdmi connection drops. I have tried 3 cables with the same result. Wondering if my hdmi port is loose or if this is expected behavior as the hdmi connection is typically made when in a dock.
  10. CDMAengineer
    Offline

    CDMAengineer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HDMI does not work when I do any sort of HD movie service


    I have the cable and it works on everything EXCEPT when I use my HBO GO and try to actually play a hi def movie. I get a pop up box which says "Please unplug your HDMI cable and try playing hte video again". Is this a rights management thing or is it a technical problem with the phone?

    I can play Youtube, all other sources of video, but any real movie service does not work.
  11. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some apps have been programmed to not work in HDMI mode. I know HBO is one if them.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. CDMAengineer
    Offline

    CDMAengineer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    why BS the user?

    It would be nice if htey would just tell you that it does not work, instead of making it look like some hardware problem. Being an engineer, I spent a couple of days playing with things before I came to the conclusion that there is a DRM problem. I mean just outright saying " Some apps have protected content and will not work on the HDMI cable" and then I would just know it is HBO and NOT the cable is bad.

    Thanks MOT.
  13. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wouldn't had known if I didn't read it on the RealHDMI market page. Though, I kind of remember reading about content blocking back when the X first came out with Blockbuster.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  14. pilot12
    Offline

    pilot12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, I had the exact same results when I experimented with the cable. I ordered the HD dock the same day and got it overnight and I didn't connect directly again (HD dock works fine with no "loose connection"), so I never figured out if it was the port or the cable, but it was definitely on the phone end. I suspected the inexpensive cable from Monoprice might be the culprit, but that same cable is now working fine with the dock. The phone fits snugly into the dock and I can move the entire assembly around without losing the connection.

    BTW, I do recommend the HD dock. It gives you a couple more options and more covenience when going HDMI to a larger screen. The included remote is a little glitchy so you might want to consider ordering a looooong cable from MP or wherever you buy your wires.
  15. weslaing21
    Offline

    weslaing21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my hdmi is stuck in hdmi output but it doesnt a cord hooked up to it cannot get it to go away i have a droid 3
  16. brent.murray
    Offline

    brent.murray New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Video, however no audio thru hdmi.....

    I tried the minihdmi with my bionic to a hd tv and immediately recognized and showed video... NO AUDIO though whatsoever..... tried a ton of apps,songs, videos, double check media audio vol, no luck.. was borrowing the brand new cable from a buddy. I'm going to Best buy where I bought it from and have them hook it up and see if they can.... hardware issue?
  17. davecor
    Offline

    davecor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finicky HDMI port

    Just hooked up my Bionic via HDMI for the first time and had the same problem with intermittent signal loss with a Monoprice cable. It resolved after a few reconnects and mot moving the phone. Will try another cable next time to test.
  18. Metalunna
    Offline

    Metalunna New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's definitely an issue with the cables I got from monoprice cables. I RMA'd the 15 foot and 6 foot I had..Replacements do the same thing. The 3 foot I got is solid. Because the cables are so cheap, I decided to try the cables with the ferrite. They are a little more stable. I also bought a standard to Micro HDMI adapter and that seems to work well.

    BTW..I still love monoprice. No issues with them whatsoever. Even the RMA was easy.
Search tags for this page
audio doesnt work mirror mode
,
bionic doesn't recognize hdmi cable
,
bionic hdmi not working
,
bionic mirror mode
,
droid 3 hdmi damage
,
droid bionic doesnt recognize mirorror mode
,

droid bionic mirror mode not working

,
droid bionic why di mirror mode stop working
,
droid mirror mode doesnt work
,
gs3 mirror mode doesnt pop up
,
hate the new mirror mode on droid bionic
,
hdmi doesn't work on droid bionic
,
how to activate mirror mode droid 4
,
htc thunderbolt hdmi
,
no mirror mode bionic