No Droid for me because of $20.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by PapaDeuce, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. PapaDeuce

    PapaDeuce New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My family is on a 5 phone family plan. And we have 2 phones with data plans @ an extra $30 each for the phones.... our base monthly bill is $130. Then add all the taxes and stuff and it comes to ~ $160.

    So I went to buy my Droid today and the guy tells me that I MUST upgrade to include a $20 a month family text plan. In my entire life I have sent exactly ONE TEXT, and received about 10 texts. ( in about 18 years of having a phone ) Nobody uses text on any of our 5 phones.

    I can't justify $240 a year for texting I will never use. Sigh. I am so disappointed.
     
  2. MM1 Payne (US Navy)

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah i feel your pain it does suck. but you never know you might wanna be sending texts to your friends all day as soon as you get this superphone. Although I'm suprised he didnt say anthing about the mandatory data plan....
     
  3. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try a different guy at a different store. Maybe you'll have better luck.
     
  4. the3dolla

    the3dolla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    or..

    Or.. Start using texting. I have it on my family plan with 5 phones. I was anti-txt for a while, but now it's fun/sweet/awesome/etc.

    Maybe you'll like it!
     
  5. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 4 phones on a family plan with 2 data plans. We do not have the family text plan and no one ever mentioned it. Sounds like your rep is misinformed. I agree with the try again comment.
     
  6. jkhonea

    jkhonea Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    Agree with the others saying try someone else. All I've ever heard required is the data. Never anything about texting. Sounds like someone at the store might not know what they're talking about.
     
  7. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    He's off. Your Droid only needs the required data plan, which covers your texting, etc.

    Your other phones likely have texting included in their data plans, or as a separate add on, check that for your other phones, and go to a vz owned store if possible.
     
  8. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll join the chorus. There is no requirement for a text messaging plan. Period. When and if anyone in my family exceeds 1 text per day on a regular basis, I'll consider it. Until then, we pay $.20 per text message.
     
  9. PapaDeuce

    PapaDeuce New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I knew about the data plan before I went in. I have that on our 2 Blackberrys.

    Here is what he said: " Because the phones you want to update are so old, you MUST have a family text plan." I was taking an available update on my mom's phone so that I could replace my Blackberrry, which I can't stand. The BB is not available for an update until December.
     
    #9 PapaDeuce, Apr 5, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  10. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I would try to do is upgrade an existing phone to a Droid without adding the plan. Then add a crap dumb phone and swap the numbers. Or go to a different Verizon store or even a Best Buy. I know the BB people have a lousy rep but it is not entirely deserved.
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Ask for a Manager or goto another corp store.
     
  12. samsung rogue user

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your rep= idiot. Just trying to get you to shell out more for his gain. Data plan is required... text is not. My rep offered a plan without it. Goes to show you how misinformed ... or sneaky... certain reps are.