no data signal at all

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by jared845, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Help I don't know what to do anymore.... my phone has no data signal what's o ever ...suggestions?? Not root ing as of yet.....do I do a factory Res et ....do I call vzw again and have them send me a refurbed device??? Or do I demand a sg3 ....sg3 is unlikely as I have demanded one before....and got me know where
    FYI THIS POST JB
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Droid Forums
     
  2. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Did a battery and sim card pull and is back guess well see wit happens

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Droid Forums
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Probably just dropped the signal for a bit. Next time save yourself some time and try Airplane mode. If that doesn't work, pull the battery and SIM for about a minute then it should back.
     
  4. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try saving *22899 as a contact then use the contact to dial the number. It will update your prl (preferred roaming list). See if that helps, I've noticed an improvement but I'm not totally certain its from updating the prl or the new jb radios, maybe a combo of both.
     
  5. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    I heard doing this on a 4G phone it kills the SIM card
     
  6. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    It won't. It used to during the Thunderbolt debacle. It won't anymore. Although no one has proven it to be a good or bad thing, updating the PRL manually puts you on a 3G PRL.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    thats funny thats the phone i had and was told not to do the *228, but i did pull the battery and sim and seems ok for now, still cant hold a 4g signal for long, but well see ....so save *22899 to a contact and then dial it?...just dont get all the issues with this darn thing...its frustrating....but guess ill deal or eventually root.
     
  8. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Dez, do you think if i have vzw replace the device with another nexus would i have the same issue or if not worse? Just your thoughts if you may...thanks
     
  9. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Don't know tbh. If it happens more consistently it could be hardware issues or it could be due to the area you are in. If it does happen more consistently then yes I would personally go exchange the device.
     
  10. jared845

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    If I am in a 4 g area, then the signal should be a constant 4 g right?
     
  11. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Yup.
     
Search tags for this page
android data signal
,
droid dna no signal only data
,
galaxy nexus no data signal
,

galaxy nexus no signal

,
galaxy nexus no signal at all
,

no data signal

,
no data signal android
,
no signal samsung galaxy nexus
,
samsung galaxy nexus no reception
,
samsung galaxy nexus no signal