No data after tethering with "Wi-Fi tether"

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hummvee2134, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure how i screwed this up but...

    I installed ultimate droid V8 with Nandroid last night, played arround a while, and then tried the wifi tethering app. Everything worked good and my laptop connected fine, went online, then shut the app off.

    I then reaised i had no data connection anymore. The 3g symbol was showing at the top of the screen that i was transmitting but not receiving. When i restarted the 3g went completely away and all i have now is bars. No data connection at all.

    I even reverted back to my stock installation from the backup.

    Figured maybe it was an outage, but here i am 8 hours later. same situation.

    I could really use some help on this one. thanks.
     
  2. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried just doing a *228? And update your PRL. Sometimes the simplest of solutions do the trick.
     
  3. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just tried it with no luck
     
  4. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try turning your radio off then back on (airplane mode) also go into settings > wireless networks > mobile networks and check that the data timing box is checked as well as the networks are set to automatic.
     
  5. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup, that's all set. still no luck
     
  6. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    First time root? wifi worked on 3g? then doesn't, back to stock, still doesn't work. what if you put wifi back on? (except your now on a stock phone)

    1)If you go across town, does it still not work? maybe something is indeed up in your local area.
    2) What method did you use to go back to stock? It will take you about ten minutes to download the files and go through the steps in my 3rd link below
    3) how long have you had the phone?

    I see 3 solutions, and there may be others yet still.
    1) nothing is wrong with your phone - 3G is down at your house
    2) something is left on the phone, setting wise - sbf will fix that
    3) phone broke - bring it to the store they will see it isn't working, get new phone.
     
  7. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok took care of it. Complete factory reset to complete stock and Re-Activation.

    thanks for your help GSXR
     
  8. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your welcome... was trying to eliminate all the easy solutions first. I'm glad you got it fixed. I would be freaking out.
     
  9. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Some left over data was causing the issue. Good thought trying the factory reset.

    So...off to root again? [​IMG]
     
  10. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    absolutely. I'm going to give the new BB image a shot. The ultimate droid image was too cluttered for my taste
     
  11. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Make sure you install a custom kernel
     
  12. hummvee2134

    hummvee2134 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's the advantage
     
Search tags for this page
3g data link lost megoldad
,
android tether 3g data link lost
,
lose data tethering
,
motorola milestone tether data link lost
,

open garden limited connectivity

,
tethered but no data moving
,

tethering 3g data link lost

,
tether with no data
,
wifi tethering mobile data connection lost