No coverage at new house

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mitchb2, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I moved into our new house in Mooresville, NC, today.

    Our coverage has been fantastic until now. I have zero bars, and data flickers between 1x and 3g.

    This is very bad. $200 for an extender is gouging. I'm not sure what wee can do.

    It sucks that my family won't be moving here for two weeks and I can't call them.
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Verizon has been known to offer discounts if the signal is really low. You need to call them.
  3. darkk2b2
    Offline

    darkk2b2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Really? What do they consider low signal? because I moved out to the middle of nowhere and I usually have two bars and only 1x.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  4. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    You can always use wifi at your house. Like Bayou said, i'd call verizon and try to get a discount.
  5. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    I believe verizon does give a considerable discount if you have a very low signal or none at all. I think that extender only does 1X and not 3G though so for data you would have to utilize your Wifi network.
  6. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Yes. I went to a Verizon store and told them about the low signal at my house. They sold me an extender at their cost.
  7. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    You might also try to just get out of your contract...I've never tried it, but it seems if the service is that poor you may have a valid claim to terminate the contract without penalty. Basic goodwill - I'd be surprised if VZW won't work with you.
  8. Leonard Wong
    Offline

    Leonard Wong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The network extender has a promo for $100 after $100MIR. It took me 4 phone calls to Verizon Wireless to get the actual rebate since it wasn't included in my equipment shipment. Verizon kept sending me rebate forms for cell phone purchases, none of which included the Network Extender rebate.

    As a quick summary, it does NOT extend 3G signal. Its not a deal breaker for me since WiFi is faster. But it does only extend 1X network coverage. I wonder if there's a newer 3G Network Extender coming soon, but I'm not willing to pay more than $100 to provide coverage at my house.

    To save you from having to repeat the same four calls I had to make, I've attached to this posting.
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2010
  9. County Mike
    Offline

    County Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to call and ask for the rebate form too. So far, I'm only a little happy with the extender. It has helped, but I sometimes still get only 1 or 2 bars while standing right near the extender. It seems to fluctuate but I haven't had time to mess with any settings and see if I can improve the signal.
  10. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Not to pry, but how much did that end up running you? I'm just curious.
  11. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    chinese drywall with lead???


    I justed noticed a cursor when using the browser on the droid. I pressed somewhere on the broswer window then pressed the physical caps/shift key and it appeared.
  12. xpezdj
    Offline

    xpezdj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'm in Concord, and I pass through Moorseville often, and I usually also only have 1x through there.
  13. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MS
    Rumor has it that they are coming out with a new NE pretty soon that is supposed to allow 3g, thus the $100 price.

    Wish I could use one...they don't work in the newly acquired Alltel area in MS.
  14. airborne
    Offline

    airborne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you re-activate your phone when you moved ???? That might help. It helped me when I moved. But other then that I would just visit all the carriers websites and see who has the best coverage for your town.

    Not all carriers are everywhere, especially when it comes to small populated areas.
  15. outfieldjack
    Offline

    outfieldjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try a PRL update?
  16. glamtek666
    Offline

    glamtek666 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got my NE on ebay for 75 bux. I have consistent 4 bars all the time, and I barely had 1-2 before. I live in a highrise. All concrete and steel. Its been a life saver for me.
  17. JimmyD
    Offline

    JimmyD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THIS ^^^^^^^^^^^

    I would try a PRL update first... all you need to do is dial *228 and the phone will try to establish its cell connection to the best available tower in your area.

    (This is also an ideal step to take when travelling by the way.)
  18. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    To make sure it's working, call #48 from your cell. You should get a double tone and a message saying that you're under extended coverage.

    I got about $100 off; no rebate required.
  19. n813ca
    Offline

    n813ca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the extender doesn't show your good bar signal until you are on a phone. IT does work. It shows none and then when I answer a call or make a cal l have fulll bars.
Search tags for this page
low verizon signal at my house
,
no recepion in my house verizon
,

verizon no coverage in house

,
why do verizon extender bars fluctuate