no camera-rooted and v38 kaosfroyo installed

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by RyansGirl101302, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    So i don't know why it has taken this long to notice, but my camera forces closed everytime i try to use it. My eris is rooted and has v38 kaosfroyo on it...anyone else having this problem, or is there an easy fix?
  2. divalibra
    Offline

    divalibra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this. Open the camera and wait until the outline of the auto focus box turns green...then try to take a pic....my camera was force closing until I noticed this little work around...hope this helps

    Sent from my FroyoEris using Tapatalk
  3. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    tried it...as soon as it opens it says "the application Camera (process com.android.camera) has stopped unexpectedly. please try again"

    it doesn't even give me time to do anything....
  4. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Last Thursday I rooted 3 Eris's via the UnrEVOked method.
    >2 went from Stock 2.1 to v38.
    >One was running v36 and had camera problems.
    >All 3 phones running the latest ClockworkRecovery.
    >All 3 phones received 2-pass wipes using all the wipe methods available in CMRecovery before I installed KFv38.
    >All 3 phones ended up with massive camera issues.

    I could get the camera to somewhat stabilize if I went to Application management, cleared data for the Camera app, rebooted, and then turned off autofocus, and set it to 3MP images. It may work for only 10-15 minutes before FC'ing every time the Camera app is opened. I'm at a loss on what further things I can do to try to get the camera to work.

    I'm hoping that there's going to be a v39 soon, or perhaps just a camera fix patch. This is really annoying to deal with.

    Edit: Just did some reading elsewhere

    Apparently this kernel can be flashed that'll help with camera stability and other things:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=774211

    Anyone wanna give this a try?
  5. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Bump

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  6. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Was my link of any assistance to you?
  7. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    I didn't because it said it was for freezing and mine doesn't freeze it just doesn't work.I'm kinda bummed. I use it all the time.

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  8. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Freezing/Crashing are different words to describe thesymptoms that KaosFroYo users have been seeing with the camera. You should definitely grab CFSv6 from that link and flash it. It can't hurt to do so, given your situation. It may also improve battery life for you.
  9. jshep330
    Offline

    jshep330 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you dont really need to flash a new rom,go into your settings and tweak he settings for your camera like resoloution and things like that,i had the same problem the first time i flashed my first rom which was nonsensikal kaos froyo 5.4 . but try that i`ll try to remember what i did to my camera to fix the problem and post it for you
  10. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    [ROM]KaosFroyo V38 [10/28] [FROYO] - Page 1495 - xda-developers

    I never advocated flashing a new ROM. I speak of flashing a new kernel. The XDA thread has dozens of people, from page 1495 onward, talking about their camera/battery issues when just running KaosFroyo v38 as-is. As the thread goes on, those same people are reporting good luck after the CFSv6 kernel is flashed into their KFv38 ROM.

    Some people want to flash KaosFroyo and keep it. They don't want to switch ROMs and they like what KF has. Also, Nonsensikal is not the same thing as Kaos. They're two separate FroYo builds for the Eris by separate people. It's possible that Nonsensikal uses a different kernel with his Froyo builds for Eris.
  11. jshep330
    Offline

    jshep330 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok im running nonsensikal v10.8.1
  12. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Ok went to download it. Which one is it?

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  13. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I assume you're asking for the proper kernel to download.

    Go to this website:
    Android ROM Site

    Grab the file with "CFSv6" in the name. Flash it in like you would when you updated your ROM. Make ABSOLUTELY SURE that you wipe your System & Dalvik Cache before starting up again or you will continue to have problems.

    I've updated 3 Eris's with KaosFroyo v38 with the CFSv6 kernel. All of them became so much more stable and have better battery life. Even though I overclocked them to be faster, in fact.

    Also, after installing the kernel I noticed an odd behavior where the camera would glitch up and FC exactly once on me. Then I rebooted and everything was fine. It also seemed more stable when I turned off autofocus and set it to take 3MP pics instead of 5MP.
  14. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Im trying it now...also battery life is HORRIBLE! Lasts MAYBE a few hours....any advice?
  15. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Change your OC settings? If that doesnt work, try another ROM. Your phone might not "like" the one you are using.
  16. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    looks like that fixed it! I juist hate having to reorganize everything on my screens and re setting up stuff...i have my backup and that doesnt seem to re organize my screens
  17. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    No, usually it doesnt. I use drocap2 from the market and take a pic of every home screen. It still takes a bit to set everything back up, but I know what I had, and where it was. Makes it a lot easier.
  18. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Also as an update my battery lasts all day! Way better than the 4 hours

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  19. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Congrats, RyansGirl!
  20. kurtz.240
    Offline

    kurtz.240 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not too sure what I did but....

    1. Rebooted my phone (standard)
    2. Turned off everything (On Power Control panel, more specifically turn off syncing)
    3. Opened camera through gallery instead of camera app directly.

    Not sure what did it but my camera seems to be working now...

    BlAzEuP,tHrOwDoWn :icon_eek:<((((((}~
Search tags for this page

com.android.camera has stopped unexpectedly

,

kaosfroyo camera fix