1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No 3G?

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by philosojerk, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. philosojerk
    Offline

    philosojerk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong place. I've only had my Droid for 2 days, and the newest problem I'm experiencing is an inability to get 3G. It was working fine, then I was in the Market and it went away. Now I can't get it back. I'm in my home, in a major metropolitan city. My last phone (a blackberry) was also on Verizon, and I never had a problem getting 3G in my home. My partner still has a blackberry on Verizon, and he's getting a 3G signal right now, so I know it's not an outage.

    I read elsewhere that it might have something to do with my battery settings, but even in performance mode I can't get the "3G" to show up in my status bar at the top. My wifi is working fine. I have tried turning the phone off and restarting. Nothing seems to be working.

    Any advice? Thanks in advance
  2. philosojerk
    Offline

    philosojerk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry for bumping this, but my 3G is STILL not back, several hours later. Does anyone know what's up with this?
  3. lumpysherman
    Offline

    lumpysherman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try *2289. Wait 20 minutes and if it is not back do a battery pull then do part 1 again.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. philosojerk
    Offline

    philosojerk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Lumpy, and thanks. What do you mean by "try *2289?"
  5. Mamaperk
    Offline

    Mamaperk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When my wifi is connected i don't see the 3g up top either but I'm definitely connected. I can't recall ever seeing both wifi and 3g at the same time but may have not paid attention.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. philosojerk
    Offline

    philosojerk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Until it went out this afternoon, I was seeing both whenever I was at home. Maybe I wasn't supposed to?
  7. lumpysherman
    Offline

    lumpysherman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I never see 3G while connected to a wifi.
    *2289 re-activates your phone.
    Just doing a battery pull has helped me in the past.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. feelleecop
    Offline

    feelleecop New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no 3g

    i had the same problem,it was an app that was causing my 3g outage.(advance task killer). i did a hard reset,installed apps 1 by 1.found problem.dancedroid
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Remove all taks killers, but if you have no 3G in a particular area and are getting it in other areas (I'm not sure if you mentioned where the problem was) then you can call Verizon and they will do a trouble ticket for you. It takes about 4 days and they will have someone come out and check your signal to see if there is an issue at the towers.

    Take a 3 mile drive and see if you're getting 3G in that area. If so, it's probably the tower issue I described above.
Similar Threads
  1. beneharris
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,214
  2. sapko1
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    265
  3. kaykay235
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    7,227
  4. DelawareHunter
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    5,175
  5. AmsuJackal
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,568
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid 2 no 3g

,
droid dna not getting 3g
,
phone no longer getting 3g droid 2
,
why am i not getting 3 g on my droid 3