Nexus One OS on DI

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by Afredo, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Afredo

    Afredo New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, just wondering if its possible to download the Nexus One version of standard android 2.1 and install it on the DI right now, or if that needs to wait for rooting? Theres a bunch of little quirks that I don't like about sense, thanks.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You won't ever be able to do that. They will have to create a ROM for you that might be similar to N1 but it won't be exactly the same. And Sense is part of what you get with the Incredible. If your still in your trial you can exchange for the Droid.
     
  3. Afredo

    Afredo New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just meant like install standard android 2.1 in the DI. and i had the regular droid, the physical keyboard blew and that phone's not as good as this one, so thats why I got this one. is it possible, or will it be once rooted, to install just standard android 2.1 on the DI?
     
  4. sirphobos

    sirphobos Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone says otherwise :)

    [​IMG]

    But that's a moot point, hook is right you cannot do what you want to do. N1 OS is made for the N1's hardware. Not the DI.
     
  5. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    can't you go into manage applications and clear defaults and then just choose stock 2.1 rather than sense next time you hit the home button? or am mistaken
     
  6. shamus

    shamus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think once the Incredible is rooted, a Vanilla Android ROM would be one of the first ROMs we will see.
    Don't know why there's so much negativity in the thread. Maybe it's because all the replies are from Droid owners....posting in the Incredible forum.
    You can install a home replacement (helix, launcher pro etc) and it will look significantly less like sense.
     
  7. rcd213

    rcd213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    what program, did you use to get the benchmarks on your phone (btw, I'm rooted, BB, 1 GHz)? Thanks...
     
  8. kellex

    kellex Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download Helix launcher and choose it as your home replacement. There you go.
     
  9. parkson.c.liu@gmail.com

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    download Quadrant from the market