Nexus Newb

raptor5k

Reaction score
So from all the hints I'm seeing, I might like this new Nexus or Droid Prime or whatever they want to call it. I am a newb at it though, can someone tell me what the Nexus line of phones is all about? Do they really have stock android OS, no manufacturer skins? What makes the previous Nexus phones different from everything else android? Please fill me in, or point me in the right direction. For reference, I'm just on a Samsung continuum now, a basic Android phone for anyone that doesn't know.

OriginalDroid

Reaction score
So from all the hints I'm seeing, I might like this new Nexus or Droid Prime or whatever they want to call it. I am a newb at it though, can someone tell me what the Nexus line of phones is all about? Do they really have stock android OS, no manufacturer skins? What makes the previous Nexus phones different from everything else android? Please fill me in, or point me in the right direction. For reference, I'm just on a Samsung continuum now, a basic Android phone for anyone that doesn't know.

Unlocked stock skinless premiere android OS bacon

Sent from my Bugless Droid using DroidForums

EFGantry

Reaction score
Nexus phones are pure vanilla, stock android - no other skins, UI's, bloatware, etc that you will find on other phones (e.g., Touchwiz by Sammy, Sense by HTC, Blur by Moto, etc). as a practical matter, with just stock OS, this means that any future OS updates will come straight from Google as soon as they are ready. you don't have to wait for the OEM to futz with the update and get it compatible with the OEM's skin/UI. Also, Nexus devices are generally known as developer phones, for andy enthusiasts. the bootloader is unlocked, and the phone can be hacked pretty readily - custom roms, overclocking, custom kernels, etc...

OP
R

raptor5k

Reaction score