Nexus never enters 3G

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by GohanBurner, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    've had this phone since december 27 and i have yet to enter 3G. I am only able to get 4G or1X. What gives? Is a radio broken?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  2. bhfd64

    bhfd64 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    That isn't normal. Is your phone stock? If so, you should take that issue up with Verizon.
     
  3. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's ripped with gummy rom and updated radios, but even before i did that it couldn't get 3G.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  4. bhfd64

    bhfd64 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I would return to unrooted stock w/ the current official radio and see if you can get 3G. If not I'd lock the bootloader up and take that thing back to VZW.
     
  5. holdout

    holdout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suppose i have the same problem. ive got my second nexus here because I love the phone but my first one was randomly rebooting, making "fax" noises on calls, and had generally poor reception.

    I just activated the second one last night and when I switch it to CDMA I get no connectivity.

    Currently i have a weak 4G signal, -114dBu/26asu. When I switch over to CDMA (3G) it is -93dBu/2asu, however under these conditions it will not connect to the internet. (it will connect to the web using 4g) and 4G drains the battery so bad its not practical to use it exclusively. my first Galaxy nexus would connect to the web on 3g from my house. Fortunately i have wifi that I can connect to when necessary in my home, but I'd like the phone to work as it should.


    I chose to exchange the first phone because of the poor reception and a few other issues. I will work with this one for a few more days to see if I can make it work. Perhaps the rumored OTA update will remedy some of this?

    Any thoughts?
     
  6. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm going to unroot, go stock, and lock up the bootloader and see...if nothing, second nexus here i come...

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  7. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  8. holdout

    holdout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, Ill follow up on my previous post on this issue: I got my replacement Gnex and this was the phone I was having this issue with. Once I left my house and started traveling around, I saw an improvement as it started to switch out between 3G & 4G.

    My guess is that it needed to "learn" the cell signals or something?

    BTW, I posted this issue at first as I had only had the replacement phone at my home where I am on the fringe of 4g. The first Gnex I had had a weak 3 g signal and had the random reboot problem. With the new one I have almost forgot what the boot up animation looks like!
     
  9. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    So i guess i should stop being lazy and get a replacement lol

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
enable 3g on galaxy nexus *#*#
,
google nexus 4 3g not working
,
how to activate 3g in galaxy nexus samsung
,

how to activate 3g on samsung galaxy nexus

,

how to activate 3g on samsung google nexus

,
how to enable 3g on samsung google nexus
,
how to enable 3g radio on samsung nexus
,

how to turn on 3g on galaxy nexus

,
nexus 4 3g not working#gsc.tab
,
nexus 4 3g video call