Next ICS update

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by aarong03, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. aarong03

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    Since the rumor mills are churning out some possible dates of release and everyone is chomping at the bit to get an update. My question is, if we are currently running the 215 ICS leak, will we have to go back to stock 211 ICS in order to get the next ICS update from Big Red? Or can we just unroot and update to the newest update that they send out?
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    You'll probably have to go back to whatever version the OTA will be "looking" for when it tries to update. I haven't heard much about anything since the 215 leak a few weeks ago... don't know if that means 215 will be the final or not.
     
  3. aarong03

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ok, thanks for the info. I figured I would have to.
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,615
    Likes Received:
    1,329
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,420
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I think the same thing... if the leak (215) isn't the release, then we'll probably need to go back to 211.. I hope not
     
  5. aarong03

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    I agree totally!
     
  6. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Looks like Droid 4 is getting .217 as the official ICS upgrade. As i understand it the two phones are very similar hardware.
    Does this mean anything in terms of the RAZR .215 leak?
    I don't know the full version number but it's kinda interesting.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Droid 4 upgrade OTA is 6.16.217. Is there a direct correlation?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    God people, let the Bionic get it's FIRST ICS update before begging for more............
     
  9. Caesars

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    I hear great things about ICS 215, can't wait to try it.
     
  10. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    It is pretty amazing, I had to do a FDR yesterday because of my own stupidity. So I ended up just doing two back to back and installing .211, then upgrade to .215 and did one more FDR, now my phone is running smooth as ever.
     
  11. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    It might be better to wait for bugs to be fixed.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. jkaod

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    I got my dog fixed, but how do you fix a bug?
     
  13. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    With patience and the hope that they will address that bug in the next release.
     
  14. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Tiny instruments.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2