1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

News & Weather Widget problem is a "server issue"?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by hett, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I have been hearing tell that this connection problem with the News & Weather widget is a server issue, but my brother's non-BB Droid is loading and connecting the widget without issue. Any explanations?
  2. _33
    Offline

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Mine stopped working too.
  3. LVGDroidFan
    Offline

    LVGDroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This seems to an issue with all android phones. The news/weather widget on my wife's stock/unrooted droid isn't working either. I think that the people who say that the widget is working for them aren't realizing that the widget is just reloading cached data, not getting new information from the server (see if the news is from today or yesterday!)
  4. _33
    Offline

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia


    Makes sense. Hopefully they get it fixed soon.
  5. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Try the weather channel app for weather and has a widget that fits in the news and weather widgets place. Plus it is better
  6. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    No thanks.
  7. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    hrmm both mine on my droid and my girls on her incredible are both working fine.

    haven't had a single issue. wonder if its just certain regions with problems.
  8. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Has anyone on Froyo with the Moto Droid gotten their News & Weather app to work? I get the same "server error" that everyone is talking about. Gets on my nerves, I actually used it with the DeskClock, so I could see the weather without getting out of bed. Anyone figure out a way to make it work?

    If it works on the stock Froyo install, then why wont it work on a, say, BB v0.2.1 install?
  9. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......


    its worked on all the froYo installs i have done... the 1st release, the update, and now im running bb V.01 with nextheme and its still working like a champ.

    haven't had a single issue not even once with froyo.
  10. moviemogul
    Offline

    moviemogul New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I just loaded the Stock Froyo, and no, the widget is not working for me
  11. zappadragon
    Offline

    zappadragon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    default news and weather app

    This is funny cause for me the default news and weather app is not working either but in the dock the weather comes up in the corner just fine and when I hit that it takes me to the weather stuff. Odd
  12. NegativeX
    Offline

    NegativeX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All I know was weather and news was working on 0.1 then 2 minutes later, flashed to 0.2 and it stopped working within' a 5 minute window.

    Coincidence?
  13. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    That's was my same train of thought, but it appears to be occurring on non-BB phones.
  14. NegativeX
    Offline

    NegativeX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe 0.2 released a super virus onto the interwebz and shut down the weather & news server for some people... hahaha...

    I keeeed I keeeeed ;)
  15. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Running UD Froyo, not working for me.
  16. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I posted this in a few other threads...

    The other day, I set News&Weather location to manual. So in put a zipcode (so forget any issue with detecting location) and received a message "network not available, please try again later".
  17. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Working here today.
    Wonder why it wouldn't yesterday.
  18. RemyL75
    Offline

    RemyL75 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CHicago, IL
    Same here. I tried 3 different ROMs Yesterday.... UD, SS and BB, all Froyo, and on all of them the news and Weather wasn't working. But today it's working fine.
  19. myDownfall
    Offline

    myDownfall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I just added the widget back and it's working fine today as well.
  20. ndhill1976
    Offline

    ndhill1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, they must have fixed the server. Mine is working today!
Search tags for this page

android news and weather app not working

,
android news and weather stopped working
,

android news widget not working

,

android weather widget not working

,
android widget weather server
,

bed buzz weather not working

,
google location widget server problem?
,
my google news and weather isnt working.
,
news and weather app acquiring location
,
news and weather app not working
,
news and weather application for android error
,
news and weather quit working on my android phone
,
weather channel widget not working
,
weather widgetserver
,
yahoo news widget not working