news & weather doesn't work after 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by keegstr, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. keegstr
    Offline

    keegstr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the 'leaked' version of the google news & weather app before i updated to 2.1. A few days ago it stopped working (i got network errors).

    I just updated using the manual 2.1 update, and it still doesn't work. Does anyone know what i need to do to fix it?



    http://keeganm.com
     
  2. djh074
    Offline

    djh074 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    my news works fine but weather stopped working a few days ago. im not positive, but i think it stopped working the day before i installed 2.1. not sure what the problem is but would like to have it fixed.
     
  3. dieselpowered
    Offline

    dieselpowered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just did the force update to 2.1 and news works, however, weather does not. Even trying to add location manually and it cannot find any of the zips that I enter.
     
  4. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running the same 2.1 rom for a few weeks now and my weather just stopped working earlier this week.
     
  5. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +901
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Find it in your application list and uninstall it...

    It wont show up as News and Weather it MAY show up as com.android.xxxxxx

    go to settings/applications/manage applications/menu/filter/all/scroll to find the apk and uninstall.
     
  6. keegstr
    Offline

    keegstr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I tried this, there is no option to uninstall. Just clear cache & force quit. Any ideas?
     
  7. keegstr
    Offline

    keegstr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this works now -- evidently my zip code wasn't valid any more. using my city works.
     
  8. nuclear_me327
    Offline

    nuclear_me327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    newport news, va
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've tried using zip codes and city names for here and nearby and both don't work. i will try to uninstall news and weather app but before i do i'd like to know if i can re-install it after i uninstall the app. the news portion of the app worked fine and the weather didn't. i also tried the weather channel app and couldn't get anything with zipcodes or citys either.
     
  9. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    938
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I JUST noticed this problem myself and happened to see this thread before I started my own...

    Zip codes and city names aren't working. These are the same ones I used when I had the News & Weather on Bugless Beast. As well, I tried some bigger cities (I live in a very small area). Those don't work either.

    I've got another question for you guys though...I noticed that, in the market, Goggles is listed as free, not installed. I checked the version that I have that came with 2.1 against the version in the market, and they're both 1.0.1...wtf!?

    Also, did/have any of you experienced the issue with picasa not syncing? I haven't, but others have (mostly manual-installers) Or, do you have Google Earth in the market? I don't...

    I've seen that a factory reset gets Earth in the market for most, if not all, so I'm wondering if a reset would fix the weather...?
     
  10. nuclear_me327
    Offline

    nuclear_me327 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    newport news, va
    Ratings:
    +0
    well jonny with the google goggles thing i have it installed and and it says installed on the market. i don't have picasa so i can't say anything there and i don't have google earth either....but i'm about to change that:icon_ banana:

    also i'm running stock 2.1 if that helps with diagnosing at all.
     
  11. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,150
    Likes Received:
    938
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I didn't have G Earth even showing up in the market, but I just did a factory reset after asking those questions, and now Goggles says it's installed when I look in the market and I found Earth there as well, but Weather still doesn't bring up my current location or my zip code or any of that good stuff...Wondering if there's some sort of error with the server or something...
     
  12. JayCizzo
    Offline

    JayCizzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issue with the stock weather app and the weather channel app. I'm running chevy's 2.1 ESE81 ROM. However Weather widget is working. Very weird.
     
  13. jak86
    Offline

    jak86 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My weather apps stopped working as well. It stopped about 6:50 est. I just happened to be checking my mail, once i was done i set my phone on my knee and it went from showing the weather to no weather info at all.
     
  14. olson0827
    Offline

    olson0827 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. News works but the weather does not. Has to be a server issue
     
  15. JayCizzo
    Offline

    JayCizzo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI, weather is working now in both apps.
     
Search tags for this page
android weather app doesn't work
,
how do i get my news and weather to work
,

my news and weather app doesnt work

,
news and weather app doesn't work on android
,
weather doesn't work on droid
,
why doesnt my news and weather work
,
why doesnt news and weather work on my android