News and Weather Widget

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by nailerdog, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. nailerdog
    Offline

    nailerdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As everyone is, I'm new to the TB. Came from a Droid X that I had running on Rubix. One of my favorite widgets was the "news and weather" widget. I could size it as I wanted and make it fit on my home screen as desired. Loved the scrolling news information and various catagories to choose from. I could select weather or no weather information.

    Is there a way to load this on the TB? I would love to have it.

    Thanks
     
  2. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I looked for it and can't find it in the market. Too many tv stations advertising their own widgets I got tired of scrolling through them all. Bummer..cuz I really liked that app.

    The installed weather app sucks...can't even find the city of sparks Nevada.

    Nate
     
  3. nailerdog
    Offline

    nailerdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For weather I use Weatherbug Elite and like it a lot. I really want the news only widget from "news and weather" that I used previously in my Rubix load on the X. I'm wondering if we need to be AOSP to use it?

    Can someone chime in?
     
  4. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
  5. nailerdog
    Offline

    nailerdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, that is the one I was looking for. Thanks.

    I downloaded it, moved it to the SD card and loaded it with Astro. When I attempt to open it force closes. Actually never opens. Bummer.

    Anyone know of a version tht will run on the TB?
     
  6. millbean
    Offline

    millbean Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    same issue here with the fc
     
  7. TechJPC
    Offline

    TechJPC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to do the same on My X because my rom was missing it and I get the fc too.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. nailerdog
    Offline

    nailerdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was on my Rubix ROM and I was very happy to get it back. Does anyone understand why it won't run on the TB or stock X?
     
  9. Russ2387
    Offline

    Russ2387 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i miss my news app too...
     
  10. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
  11. techguru
    Offline

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    @natey2 that one force closes on the thunderbolt as well. I have not been able to find a compatible version yet. Kind of bums me out, although on previous phones (DX and Dinc) this widget has seemed to be a battery eater.
     
  12. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +163
    Will it play nicely with the HTC TB though?
     
  13. bassmankc
    Offline

    bassmankc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Widgets don't play well with ANY phone from your SD

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  14. pistol_pete
    Offline

    pistol_pete Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a transparent version from some talented themers on this very site running on mine just fine. Remove the .zip from the end and install with astro or the like.
     
  15. Dark Lazer
    Offline

    Dark Lazer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Did you do anything else to it? I just get a message saying it didn't install.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
Search tags for this page
download weatherbug sparks to 642s rezound with sparks
,
google news weather widget android size
,
htc news and weather
,
htc news and weather app
,
htc news and weather widget
,
htc news and weather widget apk
,
htc news weather app
,

news and weather version 1.3.01

,
news and weather widget
,

news and weather widget android 2.2