Newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Big Jon, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    Just got the Moto Droid love the phone and having a few complications compared to work phone treo.

    Bluetooth-can't seem to send contacts via BT.
    Getting rid of some apps on second screen.

    I am looking to learn lots here.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi and welcome to the forum. To the best of my knowledge there is no way to transfer contacts via Bluetooth.
     
  3. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome, Big Jon! You'll find this to be a very friendly place full of great people and information! Hope you enjoy your time here! There was a new guy just yesterday (I think) by the screen name of BiggJonn - do you have a twin? - or a clone?

    :welcome:
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,184
    Likes Received:
    4,501
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,512
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Big Jon! Big Bad Jon! Sorry, I get that a lot...haha!

    Welcome aboard!

    I have to agree with hookbill on the bluetooth issue unfortunately. However, you CAN log in to your gmail account and create an export of your contacts from your Droid if you have sync enabled in Accounts/sync (it's enabled by default). I believe you can also import contacts there as well, but if nothing else, it's easier to input contacts in the computer on your gmail account if you have a long list to add.

    Hope that helps a little!
     
  5. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not that I know of
     
  6. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    6'7" 280 lbs...so do I
     
  7. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep got em sync'd no problem there just trying to see if i was missing something, able to do with other phones
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Welcome! What apps are you unable to remove on the second screen. Typically, just long press until you fill the vibration then drag the apps icon to the trash can in the middle of your screen.

    Mike
     
  9. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I press to long it auto throws icon (goggle goggles) to main page, leaving original on second after I trash it on main
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Not experienced that issue. As soon as you feel the vibration begin dragging the icon to the trash can. Are you having the same issue with other apps or just google goggles?

    Mike
     
  11. Big Jon

    Big Jon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    all apps do the same
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm rooted so I have 5 screens. I did a long pressed on one app on all 5 screens and am not able to duplicate your issue. I noticed that as soon as I feel the vibration my app drawer displays the trash can. Does your phone do that?

    Mike