1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Newbie Upgrade Question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ronnieg56, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. ronnieg56
    Offline

    ronnieg56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just went to this VZW Droid from my Blackberry 6930.

    On the BB whenever there were upgrades available to anything a visual sign would show on the home screen showing me so. Also there was an option for Over The Air Programming if there were any OS upgrades avaible. I could always check that option to see if there were any.

    Where would I see these notifications on the Droid? Where would it show if anything on the phone had an upgrade available from the Apps to the OS?

    Is there a place to look to see if anything has an upgrade available?


    Thank you.
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    For apps there will eventually be a notification on the screen but for me sometimes it takes a while. If you open your market and hit the menu button then select my apps it will show any that have an available update.

    For system or ota updates you will get a prompt on the screen. Now I'm not familiar with the charge but for my phone to check for updates I can go into settings, about phone, and click on system updates to check for one.

    Hope this helps!!

    Sent from my DROID2
  3. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll get notifications via the notification bar.
  4. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    My app notifications only show up once I go into the Market. I actually prefer this over automatic because I can choose when to DL. They used to show up at random times and it drove me nuts.

    On the DX, OTA updates are obtained thru: Menu > Settings> About Phone > System Updates. I don't have a Charge, but I'm guessing it's a similar path. Best thing to do is spend some time going thru settings and seeing what's where.
  5. ronnieg56
    Offline

    ronnieg56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for all the replies!!