1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Newbie ready to Sink or Swim with my Droid

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by CNEL65, Nov 2, 2010.

1. CNEL65

CNEL65 New Member

Hello All,
    I have had my D1 for about three months and so far have loved every mistake I have made with it. Now, I guess it is time to start getting it right!
    I selected the D1 over a BB Bold and now I need to fine tune to support my work. I am not into installing 10K of apps, nor music. I just need a solid WIFI hot spot to support my PC while I work in the field.
    I have successfully rooted per regardless of OS version, along with loading Astro File manager, ROM manager, Titanium Backup and performing a nandroid backup? So now It appears I am ready to select and load a ROM?
    At this time all I am looking for is a good ROM which supports wired tethering that allows me to access a secure site, plus keep my phone charged. I was using PDAnet, but after I found I could root, load a ROM and tether for free I said it is time to move on. I have reviewed Bugless Beast and Koush CM 6.0.0. and they both appear to meet my needs. My question would one be better than the other? I also found an app for Wired Tethering 1.4, but it could only be used with an HTC. A suggestion or a point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.