Newbie question please be gentle

vinniesuch

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm very new to the smartphone revolution so my question is what is the major difference between Android phones and the Iphone 4 . now I'm not someone who is gonna root the phone or get to technical. I have my brother offering me a free Fascinate so it would be that or the Iphone 4 . I understand this is a android website so can you be as biased as possible. Thanks alot of great stuff on here

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
Free phone you can upgrade later or locked into a 2-year contract with a phone you might hate, watching all the new phone tech hit? I'd go for the Fascinate, and I personally don't like Samsung phones all that much -- as a smart phone, anyway. The Fascinate, if you're just going to USE it instead of PLAY with it like I do with my Droid 1 (hacking, ROMs, etc), is a very good phone. :)

OP
V

vinniesuch

Reaction score
So from what I understand some differences are like widgets and the markets are different but what are the major dfferences in the two

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
That's like asking the difference between a Lamborghini and a Porche 911 Turbo. :)

Do you have any experience with any of them? If not, get your hands on an Android phone, open the app drawer, and say hello to iOS. That's a drastic oversimplification, and I admit to it freely, but that's essentially what iOS is. Android gives you the ability to customize your user experience to far greater degrees than iOS, but iOS is far, far simpler, and in actuality much more stable. On the other hand, it locks you into iTunes so completely that it's insane. :)