1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Newbie question....did do research before asking

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Talty09, Apr 1, 2010.

1. Talty09

Talty09 New Member

Alright how is it going? I am extremely excited. I purchased my droid last night on amazon wireless for $70 and free 2 day shipping. I have been reading around casually for a couple weeks now and obviously very seriously last night. I know what rooting is so I am not going to ask that dumb question. I am a college graduate with a BS in Computer Science. So I clearly know what I am doing with programming/unix/linux and the nitty gritty of computers. My question is: How easy is it to brick your phone. As in completely broken never to live another day. I have been reading and everybody warns against it. Then, I see stupid idiots asking the dumbest questions. If they didn't know then why attempt? That is leading me to believe someone of my skills can easily root my droid. I notice there are recovery images and everything. I am hoping it isn't easy to brick it because I do not feel like bricking a phone I JUST GOT. I want to root it for the wifi tether first off. Secondly I have always liked full control of my systems. Thank you for your time.
  2. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

:welcome: to the Droid Forum. If you follow the directions it is next to impossible to brick the Droid. With your background I'm sure you will have no issues.
  3. pc747

pc747 Administrator Staff Member

As long as you create a nandroid backup you are good.
  4. Talty09

Talty09 New Member