Newbie Needs Advice

pattikate

Reaction score
I'm seriously considering upgrading from my piece o' junk feature phone to the Droid X smartphone. Since I am a total novice when it coms to smartphones, having only used the internet on laptops and pcs, I have one urent question for you Droid X-perts:

Do I need to install any type of antivirus app on my Droid X, or am I safe without one?

Thanks for your input!

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
^^^^^^^What he said!

And you do not need a task killer either.

OP
P

pattikate

Reaction score
^^^^^^^What he said!

Assuming you don't need Task Killer, what's a more effective way of cancelling or disabling apps running in the background that drain the battery?

DROOIID

Reaction score
Titanium back up and freeze unwanted apps... make sure you don't freeze important ones.

Sent using Droid Forum app.

christim

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
^^^^^^^What he said!

Assuming you don't need Task Killer, what's a more effective way of cancelling or disabling apps running in the background that drain the battery?

Here is some good reading on task killers: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-applications/65483-task-killers-answer-google-developers.html

You can use the Power control bar widget to easily turn off wifi and GPS to save on battery life. I rooted my phone and changed how often the phone scans for wifi which saves battery life too.

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
The whole apps in the background drain battery thing is actually a misconception. Apps that run in the background aren't actually doing anything most of the time. Just look in your battery manager and you will see that the running apps aren't actually using noticable battery.

tappin and a talkin

OP
P

pattikate

Reaction score
^^^^^^^What he said!

Here is some good reading on task killers: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-applications/65483-task-killers-answer-google-developers.html